We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Rick's Jeep Adventures - CLOSED

Rick's Jeep Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer Jeep Rentals to see the Outer Banks Wild Horses. Rick's Jeep Adventures is the only rental company in the Outer Banks that allows you to customize the Jeep the way you like. These options include the choice to put the top down, take the doors off, avoid direct sunlight with a mesh SPF50 Bikini Top and a complimentary iced cooler. Our Jeeps are customized for beach driving, with top of the line AEV lifts from 3 to 5 inches and 17 inch alloy wheels with 35 inch Kevlar sidewalled tires. These additions not only look great but offer superior handling, ground clearance and traction on the beach. Rent from the best and all you need to do is enjoy your ride! Your off-road Jeep adventure lasts a little over 2 hours. The Jeep tour will take you across the pristine 4X4 beaches. Because our Jeep Rentals are "self driven" but "fully guided" we can offer a full money back guarantee to find the horses. Following a guided tour provides you with access to our guides who enjoy sharing local history and information on the Spanish Wild Horses. Our guides are your GPS and can guide you safely around the 6-7 feet deep mud puddles of Carova and keep you safe back behind the dunes. At Rick's Jeeps we care about our local area, so we want to make sure that everyone has fun on the beach with the minimum environmental impact possible. We also want to ensure that the Spanish Mustang Ponies of the Outer Banks stay free and wild for generations to come.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This tour was definitely the highlight of my vacation to Outer Banks, NC. It wouldn't have been the same without Peter, our tour guide. He made the adventure lots of fun. He was very informative, courteous, and entertaining with a remarkably magnetic personality.

Next time, I will make sure to request Peter again.

I would recommend this activity to people of all ages.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    20
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden,Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Jeep Adventure tour”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We did this in July and can I say AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! We had so much fun on this tour our guide was Wylie (?) I think and he was so knowledgeable and we saw so many horses and took some amazing pictures, this was amazing experience! it was really a bumpy ride but it was so much fun we would do it again in a minute!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A Most Excellent Adventure”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Having a heat wave on the Sunday before Christmas - 75 and sunny - what could be better than driving a Jeep on the beach? So glad we did this. Our guide Peter was friendly and knowledgeable and made the whole experience a blast. We saw baby horses, horny horses, horses on the hill, and a horse on the beach. We'll spare you the photos of the horny horse, let's just say he was quite impressive. Everyone was all smiles the whole trip. Thanks for an unforgettable experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaxieJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gary "Lee" was fabulous!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My Mom joined us on the tour even though she'd been on the tour the year before with a different tour company. She said this one was hands down better!! The tour was wonderful. It was fantastic to learn about the pure and protected breed. Gary made the education fascinating! He was a constant entertainment even with all the bad jokes. :-) We would only go on another tour if he was our guide. He made the tour so much fun and educational. Thanks Gary "Lee"!!

We'll see you again next year, Gary!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scubatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“what an awesome adventure”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On 10/6/13, We 3 ladies went to see the wild horses of Corolla with our awesome guide, BUTCH. He was friendly, and knowledgeable. We saw over 25 horses in their natural habitat. It was definitely worth it. I would recommend this adventure to anyone. The Jeep was alot of fun on the sand ruts and dunes. Butch was the best!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Jeep Adventures also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing