We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not one red cent!”

Osaka Japanese & Chinese
Ranked #34 of 108 Restaurants in Cornelius
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not one red cent!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Sunday night at about 8:50 we called to see what time this restaurant closed. We arrived at the restaurant and were seated at approximately 930. They said they closed at 10 o'clock. The waiter came by took our drink order. We ordered two sushi rolls and a Japanese dinner. The food was very poor for the $. Not much flavor and a sushi rolls were very plain and boring. I had to ask the waiter three times to fill up my drink. He brought our food and our drinks were empty and never even asked fill it up. Not one time did he come back and ask how everything was. They were more interested in trying to close up then to take care of the customers they had left in the restaurant. We waited and waited for him to bring our check. Finally had to walk up front to the lady counting money at the register and another waiter brought our check up to us. I did not tip him one red cent!!It has been a long time since service was that bad to not get any tip at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth .....”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love sushi and this had to be the best I have ever put in my mouth!! Their special rolls are dynamite. While we have a few of them, I must recommend the magic roll!! Yummy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eahagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Sushi and Chinese Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my family's favorite place to go for both sushi and Chinese food. Sushi is very fresh and presented beautifully. Hard not to find something you like with a wide variety of choices. My favorite meals are Orange Chicken and Ginger Chicken, both just a little spicy. The best deal is to go for lunch at lower prices; the portions are large. Wait staff are friendly and quick and the atmosphere is enjoyable, even though this is in a shopping center. Have tried many Chinese/Japaenese/Sushi restaurants, but thus one is the best we've found. (If you go for lunch, go to Birkdale Village afterwards for an enjoyable shopping adventure. It's only a couple miles away).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbaraann007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Osaka is the best of both Japanese and Chinese food. The sushi is always fresh, and reasonably priced. If you're not into the raw (like myself) you must try the Crunchy Roll! We love the service as well, as everyone is always ready to help out and you never have to wait too long for anything. The only trouble you may find is finding a parking spot on the weekends, but there is parking in the back and across the street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Chinese! Great sushi too!! Very inexpensive!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We love this Chinese restaurant! The General Tso's chicken is delicious! We also like the sushi, the crispy bagel roll is great. Really good Chinese and Sushi for the price!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Japanese & Chinese also viewed

 

Been to Osaka Japanese & Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing