We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place has gone downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This place has gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The last time I stayed, I felt it was shabby but acceptable. This time, I decided I would not return. The breakfast was nasty - just stale cereal, old animal cookies, and coffee too sour to drink. One of the cleaning staff was bringing her child with her into the rooms, which seemed pretty unprofessional. Many of the windows and several doors were unlocked, which made me feel less safe. They were painting random patches of the walls when we were there, adding the smell of paint to the odor of cigarettes. The people at the desk are extremely nice and helpful, but that does not make up for the poor facilities. They should be charging half the price they are currently asking considering how run-down the motel is. Pay a little more and get a better place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambler541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    67
    93
    126
See reviews for
114
99
55
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff was very nice and cooperative, but the hotel is run down. We tried two rooms. Both were in bad shape with dingy, stained carpeting. The one room had a chipped tub and the other room had a cracked window. The pillows were lumpy. The phone system needs to be updated. The property needs to be better maintained and updated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornelius hotels

Estero
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel about a year ago and while it was looking tired and old, we decided to give it another try, A year ago, one of the front doors was broken and had a sign on it. Well, the door is still broken and the sign is still there. And, that was just the beginning. Someone wrote in a review in 2008 that this place was in dire need of renovation. Believe it or not, there doesn't seem to have been anything done in the past 5 years, so you can imagine what it's like now. Everything looks tired, old and in need of repair or replacement. The staff is perfectly pleasant and they do what the can. But, they're representing a very old, run down place with few redeeming qualities. The price is right, the location is good and they do seem to try to keep it clean. But, we won't return and wouldn't recommend it to anyone else either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel was run down and dirty. Hotel stay was cheap so i did not expect thishotel to be anything great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornelius
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
#3 of 6 in Cornelius
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Cornelius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davidson
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman
Address: 20820 Torrence Chapel Rd, Cornelius, NC 28031-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Cornelius
Microtel Hotel Cornelius
Cornelius Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing