We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy on, Easy off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Easy on, Easy off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a clean and convenient spot right off I-77 as you're headed south --- you can even see it from the interstate, but the road noise isn't bothersome. We like to stop there after driving 8 hours and avoid the conjestion that is Charlotte --- better to tackle that fresh in the morning on our way down south! There is a shopping plaza just a few minute's walk from the motel, featuring Indian food, a pizza pub, a diner, small shops, etc. The Econo Lodge staff are always friendly, and the breakfast in the morning is adequate to get you going. Plus, it's reasonable, and it's pet friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    7
    8
    25
See reviews for
22
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed twice in August on our way to and from Atlanta. The first room we had was okay. It was clean enough, though the furniture was worn and broken, and we only stayed the one night, but the second time we were given a room that hadn't been cleaned. There was gunk on the soap stuff by the sink, and the toilet had a trail of feces down its front. They did give us a different room immediately, but I was so grossed out that I still say "yucch" about the whole place. Even the second room had broken and worn furniture. We stayed there because of a good highway coupon rate, but from now on, we'll pay more for a better quality experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrtopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornelius hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Avoid this hotel at all cost. The rooms are horrible and service is even worst. Recently stayed at this hotel on 8/11/12, the room was DIRTY, I was to tired to go somewhere else so I decided to stay. The a/c units dont work, the front desk is clueless and to top that of on 8/12/12 my check out the housekeeping staff just walks in you room unannounced. I informed desk clerk and her response was just as bad.

I called CHOICE HOTELS and they actually REFUSED to do anything about how this hotel looks, smells and is managed.

It is all about those franchise fees that CHOICE HOTELS is collecting forget about the guest. I will never, ever stay at another CHOICE HOTEL again even if the room was FREE.

It show be no surprise why the CHOICE BRAND is loosing guest, because of this type of behavior that is allowed.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

we stayed on august 03, 2012 , as I have always stayed there in august, on way to myrtle beach, used to be nice, especially when it was previosly comfort inn. Now the carpets are filthy, blood on walls, all white doors and painted dood trim is filthy and stained. And yes, the sheets are very thin and have about 4 inch holes in them. The owner cut back(according to front desk clerk) on the free continental breakfast. They used to have fruit cocktail out (cheap) as the fruit for breaskfast, but owner hasnt ordered that in months. Also did away with packets of peanut butter. The coffee was lukewarm, with no taste, tastes like they rebrew the same coffee in the filter. I can only imagine what this place looks like in the dark under a blue light. stay away!

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cds1macy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochranton, Pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had booked this hotel for a night on our trip to FL. This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! The rooms smelled musty and were very dirty, holes in blankets, stains on sheets and walls, and the bathroom had mold in the tub under the mat. The lobby is the nicest thing about the place. We didn't want to lose our money so we stayed but we didn't even sleep under the covers, just on top of the blanket (we put the comforters on the floor, they were gross too), the pillows were bad too. Couldn't wait to get out of the place, we didn't even use the shower. One of the neighboring rooms said they had ants coming out of the walls.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

After traveling 13 hours we stopped at this hotel. Lobby was nice, as well as the front desk clerk. The room was filthy. There were coffee stains on the walls, the furniture was badly stained, the carpet was sticky, and the bed sheets had holes in them! There were small holes in the bottom sheet and bigger holes in the top sheet. We only stayed because we were very tired. We left the next morning as fast as we could.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel looks very nice on the outside, the entrance is nice and the lobby is good. However, after being on the road for hours we were looking for a good bed and did NOT find it here. They told us they only had a couple of rooms left so we took one. The room smelled awful! Springs coming up through the mattress, sticky carpet. We got out of there as soon as we could!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornelius
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Cornelius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
#3 of 6 in Cornelius
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davidson
3.1 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman

Property: Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman
Address: 20740 Torrence Chapel Rd., Cornelius, NC 28031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman 1.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornelius Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cornelius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing