We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed - will be staying at Hampton Inns more often now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed at this Hampton Inn when I was going to Davidson College for business. I picked it based on price and location and honestly wasn't expecting much. However, I was really impressed with the hotel. The service was good and the rooms were really nice. Flat screen tv, comfy bed and pillows and delicious cookies/popcorn offered for "happy hour."

Breakfast was also really good. Many more options than I expected. The gym was so-so. The machines were old and it was really just a few machines thrown into a hotel room with bad air circulation.

Overall though, I was impressed with the hotel and will be staying at more Hampton Inns in the future because of it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent four nights at this Hampton Inn while at a family reunion over the 4th of July holiday. The hotel is comfortable, clean and quiet (our room was not on the highway side). Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. (One caution: NC law requires a restaurant license for chafing dishes, so hot entrees were microwavable - except for the waffles which are do-it-yourself. Beware of the microwaved eggs!!). Lots of extras such as "breakfast to go" on weekday mornings, coffee and fruit available all the time, etc. The room was very comfortable with super-comfy beds and a nice big fridge. The pool is outdoors without shade, but we were at the lake, so didn't use it. Nice lobby complete with two PCs for Internet access. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keepdancin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed for 2 days at this Hampton Inn and just wanted to say how
clean it was and very satisfied overall. Lots of choices for the free
breakfast. Most I've ever seen at a Hampton Inn which is where I usually always stay or an affiliate. Close to highway and shopping.
Would definitely recommend if staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

As Lake Norman is devoid of any upscale hotels, we usually stay at the Comfort Inn. However, I decided this time to try the Hampton Inn for the location and to earn the points. The hotel was a little dead over the Labor Day weekend. We only stayed one night. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. We had a nice view of the grassy area across from the front of the hotel. The hotel is in a very good location. We went out for dinner and also to Birkdale Village and had no trouble getting back. You don't have to drive on 77 if you don't want to. We went to back way a couple of times.

Breakfast provided a lot of choices from the numbered items to case that you heat in the microwave. The staff were also very helpful. The one snafu was the internet in the lobby. You needed a code but it didn't work and then the printer didn't work. We were trying to print our boarding passes for our flight home. We finally gave up.

However, the Internet did not seriously impact our thoughts on the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed here with family after flying into Charlotte on my way home from a vacation. I wanted to get out of the busiest part of town and get some sleep. This is a great hotel. It was quiet and very clean and the bed was really comfortable. Our room had two double beds. I didn't use the internet connection or tv because we got up and left right away after getting some sleep but everything looked just fine.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They had the best breakfast I have ever had at any hotel. The young lady who attended the breakfast was so friendly and actually brought us refills on coffee and juice and checked on us while we ate, taking our plates when we finished.

We were close to the interstate so we had an easy checkout and were back on the road in no time. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikntracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We pulled off the highway and stayed here for the night on our way back to Ohio. I was skeptical how nice it would be on the inside since the outside seemed dated. We were pleasantly surprised. Even my two year old said, "Mmm, nice," upon seeing the interior. Our room had nice bed linens and pillows and seemed very clean. We liked the free snacks available in the lobby (cookies, tea, popcorn) and the wide selection of food for breakfast in the morning. Once again we were pleased that we stayed at a Hampton Inn and will continue to seek them out when traveling for their consistent level of quality and fair price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderluster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

This hotel is a great buy for the price and location. The rooms were clean, the bed and linens were new and the breakfast area was adequate for my needs.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sk0rpio_Gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornelius
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Cornelius
175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davidson
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
#3 of 6 in Cornelius
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mooresville/Lake Norman
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman

Address: 19501 Statesville Road, Cornelius, NC 28031-8538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Price Range: $106 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your time at Hampton Inn Charlotte/Cornelius-I-77 North relaxing in the natural setting of Lake Norman or watching the races at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Join us in the lobby of our hotel in Cornelius, NC each morning for Hampton's free hot breakfast. Even if you're in a rush, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Stay connected with work and home using the free WiFi access in your room. After a day at Charlotte Motor Speedway or on Lake Norman, refresh at our Cornelius, NC hotel in our seasonal salt water pool or unwind on your clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Cornelius Hotel Cornelius
Hampton Inn Cornelius
Cornelius Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing