We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location for business or leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This Hampton Inn is located right off exit 28 of I-77 north of Charlotte just south of Lake Norman and minutes from Davidson. Nearby is a gas station and convenience store, Acropolis restaurant, and various fast food restaurants. The parking lot was large and will lit. The lobby was clean. There was a separate business center. Breakfast was served from 6-10 AM. The room was large and clean with microwave and small fridge. Wired and wireless internet was easy to connect. The pool was clean and refreshing after a day's drive. Althought the interstate is right behind the hotel, the room was quiet and we slept well.

Room Tip: Request parking lot side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvyGAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 541 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

Was in town to tour Davidson College and it was convenient to the campus. But compared to other Hampton Inns, this property was older than most. The doors that connected rooms had to be pried open. The linens were starting to fray. The breakfast area was cramped. Neverthless, the property was clean and fairly quiet even though it butted against I-77.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joegibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel was nice. It was quiet and clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed there two nights on our way to and from Florida. The room which had two queen beds was rather cramped. We usually stay in a room with one king bed. The breakfast was only adequate, nothing special. Our main concern was the combination bedspread and comforter which was much too warm and heavy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohioman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I guess if you dont need sleep, this is the place for you. First night, no peace and quiet until 3 am , then second night party begins at 3am. Finally Sunday morning all the "party goers leave. Garbage all over the parking lot, elevators etc. Horrible. I dont blame hotel management, but just a bad experience. No more North Carolina for me! I should have checked out after the first night when I saw what kind of people were there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCRFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Beautiful hotel and our room was HUGE! We reserved a King room that had a refrigerator,microwave and a sofa/sitting area. We were so pleased with our location. The entire hotel smelled clean, not bleachy though...just clean and fresh. They are a true non-smoking hotel. Bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was excellent...great variety of food. Everyone we encounted while staying there was truly friendly. Grant checked us in and he was very helpful with directions and local info.

We have told our friends that live in Denver, NC to use this location for their our of town guests that are coming up for their wedding in July 2011. We will also make this our choice whenever we go to visit as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bham1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed at this Hampton Inn when I was going to Davidson College for business. I picked it based on price and location and honestly wasn't expecting much. However, I was really impressed with the hotel. The service was good and the rooms were really nice. Flat screen tv, comfy bed and pillows and delicious cookies/popcorn offered for "happy hour."

Breakfast was also really good. Many more options than I expected. The gym was so-so. The machines were old and it was really just a few machines thrown into a hotel room with bad air circulation.

Overall though, I was impressed with the hotel and will be staying at more Hampton Inns in the future because of it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent four nights at this Hampton Inn while at a family reunion over the 4th of July holiday. The hotel is comfortable, clean and quiet (our room was not on the highway side). Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. (One caution: NC law requires a restaurant license for chafing dishes, so hot entrees were microwavable - except for the waffles which are do-it-yourself. Beware of the microwaved eggs!!). Lots of extras such as "breakfast to go" on weekday mornings, coffee and fruit available all the time, etc. The room was very comfortable with super-comfy beds and a nice big fridge. The pool is outdoors without shade, but we were at the lake, so didn't use it. Nice lobby complete with two PCs for Internet access. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keepdancin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornelius
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Cornelius
175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davidson
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
#3 of 6 in Cornelius
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mooresville/Lake Norman
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman

Address: 19501 Statesville Road, Cornelius, NC 28031-8538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your time at Hampton Inn Charlotte/Cornelius-I-77 North relaxing in the natural setting of Lake Norman or watching the races at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Join us in the lobby of our hotel in Cornelius, NC each morning for Hampton's free hot breakfast. Even if you're in a rush, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Stay connected with work and home using the free WiFi access in your room. After a day at Charlotte Motor Speedway or on Lake Norman, refresh at our Cornelius, NC hotel in our seasonal salt water pool or unwind on your clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Cornelius Hotel Cornelius
Hampton Inn Cornelius
Cornelius Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing