We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than average days inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Cornelius Lake Norman
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stopped at this hotel on a return trip from our vacation in Georgia. I thought that this property was quite nice. I chose this location because they had RV parking available.
The rooms were much larger than most days inn's and we found the pool, lobby, parking lot very clean. This is not a luxury hotel , just a nice clean comfortable place to stop along the highway. The front desk staff was nice enough to contact the manager to ask her if I could use a coupon that had expired a few days prior and she said okay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANKIE569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

I was definitely leery of staying here after reading the reviews. But, we didn't experience any of the negatives previously reported. Check in was very easy. All the front desk staff were extremely nice and accomodating. The room we had was dated and a bit worn. However, we expected that from an older hotel with lower room rates. And, even though it was older, the room was clean, smelled fresh, and included a microwave, small refrigerator, desk, and chairs as well as the two beds. We had a problem with a clogged toilet but the staff brought us a plunger and it was fixed right away.

The pool was very nice and larger than usual for this type of hotel. The breakfast area was also unusually large with plenty of seating. Breakfast buffet choices included waffles, muffins, donuts, bagels, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, juices, and milk. Also, the area surrounding the hotel was pleasant with a variety of places to eat. We chose a nearby pizzeria with an extensive menu including homemade breads and gourmet pizza slices.

Overall, it turned out to be a fine place for our overnight stop on the way home from Orlando.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeeziks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Funny, when I decided to write a review I first read the one already there and see they had the same problems and concerns with the front desk help as we did. Only thing is they stated it very nicely. Although I would love to name the elderly female manager by name I will not but she has to be the worst with customer service. RUDE, arigant are nice words to descibe my check in. I was even informed I threatened her and the staff and upon questioning her fround my threat to be I planned to call the Customer Service department at Days Inn. Check in was nothing but problems and I found others in our group also had the same problems. As prior person stated when more than 1 person came to the desk at the same time she flipped. Our first room smelled of urine and when requesting another room we had to wait till it was inspected to see if we touched anything. We were in the room for less than 3 minutes. Our second room, also not with the rest of the group as requested did not have the microwave and frig promised. TV did not work and when we called to the front desk were told they had no mantainance on duty. 3 hours later someone did show up to the room unknown to us. We were told it was fixed but when we checked it we only had a volume of all the way high or no sound at all. Someone from our group finally fixed the TV. Upon going to bed we found out we had no clock radio or alarm that worked in the room and also called on that but found no one could help us. Next morning at about 8 AM maintanance showed up in our room, knocked and walked in while my family were still in bed and I was in the shower. He found out the TV was fixed and replaced the radio/alarm. Night 2 saw us hit up by a bum asking for change while swimming. Comp breakfast was very light with just toast, juice, stale cereal and coffee. Only served for a few hours ending at 9 AM. Our second room was a typical room, beds seem small for doubles and are hard. Shower was dirty with black mold on the top of the shower, under the mat and all over the vents and ceiling (vents and ceiling were covered with a black dust). Overall we avoided the female manager at all costs but other staff was nice. Tammy, a new cleaning manager was GREAT! She is what managment should be about and knew what customer service was. I would avoid sending groups here and avoid check ins when female manager is on duty. Its not worth the hassles when you are traveling.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

The Days Inn Lake Norman, formerly the Holiday Inn was in a list of suggested hotels we received with our National Bowling Tournament paperwork. It was very convenient to where we needed to be and had easy in and out access. The front desk clerk seemed to get a little agitated when 4 guests arrived to check in at the same time. Otherwise, check in was quite a breeze. Although our room was cool, the AC unit was not running. In an effort to cool it down some more, the unit would not come on. We immediately called the front desk, and maintenance personnel was there in less than 30 min. and had it working fine. We also noticed we did not have enough towels, so we asked the maintenance personnel how we could get more towels. They told us to see one of the maids. As it turned out, in less than 15 min., they brought us more towels. The room was a typical hotel room 2 beds, dresser, night stand, with small table and 2 chairs. There was no refrigerator or microwave in any of the rooms we reserved, so we were quite disappointed with that. Overall decor and cleanliness of the room was typical. Under the non-skid mat in the tub appeared to not get cleaned regularly. The worst thing about this room, the beds were HARD AS A ROCK. It was almost like a sheet draped across plywood. Everyone in our group complained that their beds were horrible. There was a bass tournament going on the same time we were there, and there were lots of boats. Fortunately either the boat owners or the hotel staff made sure that each of the room guests had a parking space convenient to their room. We also visited the small onsite bar upon our early afternoon arrival. It was pleasant, and the proprietor was exceptionally nice. I must say most everyone at this hotel was exceptionally nice. In fact most everyone we encountered in this city was very nice. Would I stay there again. Probably would. Would I say something about the beds next time? Definitely.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neverready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornelius
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
#3 of 6 in Cornelius
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Cornelius
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davidson
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Huntersville
Quality Inn Huntersville
#10 of 12 in Huntersville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Cornelius Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Cornelius Lake Norman

Address: 19901 Holiday Ln, Cornelius, NC 28031-8419 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Price Range: $61 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Cornelius Lake Norman 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Cornelius Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Norman Hotel Cornelius
Days Inn Cornelius
Cornelius Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing