We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one in Concord”

Havana Carolina Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #22 of 308 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, NC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one in Concord”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Tried the Cuban Sampler (on the Appetizer menu) as a lunch entree. A great way to enjoy several items from elsewhere on the menu. My colleague had the Cuban sandwich. A great place for lunch. It is inside an old department store building, you don't see it from the street.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Docinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“new location”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

it,s great that they have a new location and the place is decorated typical Cuban...the food is good and reasonable...would highly recommend to everyone and try some Caribbean flavor...owner also makes his own bread, which I buy on a regular basis and it is great..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Food was Much Better than the Service”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Cuban food is the one thing we've missed most since moving to North Carolina and were thrilled to find a relatively local option. The restaurant has moved and is now located at 11 South Union Street, Suite 108, Concord, NC (my GPS had the old address on Main Street). You enter into an area of shops off the road, and the restaurant is down along the back.

We weren't thrilled with the service we received or the seating options, but the food was very tasty. The portions were reasonable, but not similar to what you'd receive in Tampa, FL. We are also accustomed to receiving fresh Cuban bread with our meal, but they did have some upon request.

Their appetizers range from single items like croquettes ($.75 ea), stuffed potato balls ($1.50 ea) to a sampler of items ($8.00). They offer chicken, beef, pork and seafood entrees. Examples include Pollo Asada, a chicken breast seasoned with Cuban spices, sliced and slowly roasted in a Saffron sauce for $7.99, Picadillo, Cuban Steak - boneless top round steak, thinly sliced and grilled with citrus mojo, complemented with diced onions for $11.99, and Shrimp in Tomato Sauce for $15.99. They also have a full array of sandwiches - Cuban Sandwich $6.99, Roast Pork, and many more.

We ordered the Bistek Empanizado (breaded steak) to share and added a side of yuca con mojo. It comes with rice, beans and plantains (sweet or green). As I mentioned, the food was very good. The steak was tender and flavorful and the side dishes were authentic.

Our service was not very responsive and it took quite a while for them to even take our order. Fortunately, the food mostly made up for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TracyTravelsOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Que Rico!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Love this place! Great food and atmosphere. They will let you try items to see if you like them which is great. They are reasonably priced. If you are with children, just note that sometimes the food can take awhile.

Helpful?
1 Thank Annalee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit of Tampa in Concord”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The wife and I have lived in the Tampa area for the last 18 years and have our favorite little Cuban restaurants around Tampa. This week, we are in Concord visiting family and decided to stop into the Havana Carolina Café & Bakery. I had the Pork and so happy that I wanted to speak to the owner. I told him that we were from Tampa and that I would put his pork right up there with the Columbia restaurant in Tampa (that's saying a lot as the Columbia is the standard for Cuban food in Tampa).

This is a gem tucked away in Concord!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Carolina Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Havana Carolina Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing