We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local gem!”
Review of Gianni's Trattoria

Gianni's Trattoria
Ranked #4 of 305 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Authentic European Italian Cuisine Come taste the authentic flavors of Italy! Located in Historic Downtown Concord, Gianni's is a showcase for local farmers and the food they raise and grow. The joy of fine, fresh ingredients, accented by our outstanding selection of wines, making dining at Gianni's a memorable experience. Whether you are out with the family, friends or entertaining business clients, our Gianni's "family" will be sure to make your evening relaxing and enjoyable!
Lillington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A local gem!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Located in a quaint area of downtown Concord, this restaurant is a local gem. It is very cozy and romantic. They could squeeze more seating in, but, wisely, they do not, making it very intimate. It was clearly a locals' place as we frequently saw diners greeting each other as they came in. Several appeared to be regulars. The owner came out and spoke to us for a few minutes. He indicated everything was prepared in house and they would gladly accomodate any special requests. Service was very good. The server was enthusiastic about the menu and helpful in assisting us with our choices. My husband's grilled snapper was very flavorful (and colorful!). My dish, which I can't remember the name of (something with white and green tagliatelle), was new to the menu. It included shrimp and scallops in a cream sauce with, here's the surprise, white chocolate. I don't normally order cream-based sauces, but this was a recommendation of the server. It was delicious, both savory and sweet. I appreciated that none of the food was too heavily flavored with garlic. The only disappointment was the pan roasted mushroom appetizer. It tasted almost entirely of mustard. Our bill, including one beer and tip (no room for dessert!), was $80, acceptable for a special occasion. We would definitely go back if ever in the area again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelt0eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    36
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were staying in Concord for family business in nearby Salisbury and wanted to find a good restaurant for a couple of nice dinners, one a birthday, the other Valentine's Day. We checked TripAdvisor and Gianni's was ranked #1, and we were very pleased to find that they lived up to that billing. First of all, they were very accommodating. The first night we had people in our party arriving from several different destinations, and timing became an issue. We had to change the reservation time and number of people a couple of times, and they were great in adapting for us. We were staying over near the Interstate and it was a little difficult to find, but when we did it was a very inviting setting in a downtown area that appears to have gone through a revitalization. The wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in navigating the extensive menu, providing recommendations and descriptions of the various dishes. The menu seems to change on an ongoing basis so I won't comment on specific dishes we had, but both the pastas and the secondis were all quite good and authentic, and the large antipasto misto for 2 was enough for our party of 6. Our waitress was also helpful with the wine list, steering us to a nice barbera that I was not familiar with. We shared a variety of desserts and they were all yummy. When we returned a couple of days later for Valentine's Day they had both the regular menu and Valentine's specials, and entrees from both were great. One of our party that night was a vegetarian and he had no problem in ordering. If we ever have the occasion to be in Concord again, we will most surely return to Gianni's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElVarguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Gianni's has excllent food in a great environment. This old building has wonderful character. The antipasto plate as is the lasagna...and everything else we've had here. Make sure and make a second trip to try the pizza upstairs too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been here twice, and each time, it's been just outstanding. The portions are huge, and you'll probably be taking some back to your hotel or back home. If you're staying near the Interstate, it's worth the drive into downtown Concord. The owner is from the Bronx, New York, and he's definitely Italian! He will eventually show up at your table to make sure you've enjoyed your meal! The meatballs are huge, and the lasagne is so so very good. There are numerous other choices, and everybody we've ever dined out with has remarked how great their dinners were. Take a trip downtown; it's worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Concord”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here and was greatly impressed with the quality of the food and service. During lunch do expect to spend at least 1 hour if not more because it can get busy. One thing about this restaurant is it's homey italian theme, you feel like in a small mom and pop in Italy for sure. You will not be dissapointed!

Helpful?
2 Thank Topdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing