We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - "Hit or Miss" Service”
Review of Moose Cafe

Moose Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Colfax
Description: The Moose Cafe is a Southern style restaurant that has been serving up some of the best country cooking for over 20 years. Both locations are located on the grounds of North Carolina Farmers Markets, so the fresh ingredients are only steps away!
Restaurant details
Description: The Moose Cafe is a Southern style restaurant that has been serving up some of the best country cooking for over 20 years. Both locations are located on the grounds of North Carolina Farmers Markets, so the fresh ingredients are only steps away!
Reviewed July 18, 2016

...have been a few times, mostly breakfast or lunch. Recent visit was for dinner. Generally, food is very good - as is service; however, this time we (2 of us) arrived @ 7:30 (closes at 8:30) - seated promptly, but waited quite some time before any acknowledgment from wait staff. Ordered AYCE fish & shrimp, "unlimited" vegetables and cobbler. Never once was asked if I wanted re-order - nor was served dessert.
I think key is to avoid the last hour - or else you might get in the way of someone trying to get out of there right at closing!!!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank obxpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 345 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016

We first came here first for dinner not knowing what to expect. The tour book said it was good and inexpensive, so we took a chance. They have an extensive menu with a few hard to pass up specials. I tried one BBQ special and my wife had the chicken breasts. Mine wasn't great, a lot of fat and gristle on the chicken and ribs, but I still got my fill of the pulled pork. My wife's chicken was better, satisfying and pretty good. I was told they had a really good breakfast, so we came back in the morning. Breakfast was much, much better and inexpensive compared to most. The wait staff was friendly, easy to talk to and worked hard to help us enjoy being there. After we ate, one of the managers came out front and offered to take our picture with the Moose and Cafe sign. The people were really great! Another good thing about the cafe is that it shares the grounds of a sizeable Farmer's Market.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 961kennethf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

Tried the Moose Cafe before shopping at the farmers market. OMG they start you off with the best biscuits while you are looking at the menu. I could have just ate the biscuits and coffee and called it a day!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

We have had mediocre meals here but some were good to pretty good.
So so breadfast or brunch but the meatloaf is usually pretty good.Sunday School class has ate there with good food and service.
The food is usually good with few misses and a occasional Excellent!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Patbat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Home cooking and friendly service with large portions. Great breakfast spot with all the favorites, large biscuits , country ham, grits and homeade apple butter. Great variety of veggies at noon with dumplings. Only problem it gets a little crowded.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wallypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Moose Cafe also viewed

Been to Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.