We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually above mediocre thru the years”
Review of Moose Cafe

Moose Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Colfax
Description: The Moose Cafe is a Southern style restaurant that has been serving up some of the best country cooking for over 20 years. Both locations are located on the grounds of North Carolina Farmers Markets, so the fresh ingredients are only steps away!
Restaurant details
Description: The Moose Cafe is a Southern style restaurant that has been serving up some of the best country cooking for over 20 years. Both locations are located on the grounds of North Carolina Farmers Markets, so the fresh ingredients are only steps away!
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

We have had mediocre meals here but some were good to pretty good.
So so breadfast or brunch but the meatloaf is usually pretty good.Sunday School class has ate there with good food and service.
The food is usually good with few misses and a occasional Excellent!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Patbat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2016

Home cooking and friendly service with large portions. Great breakfast spot with all the favorites, large biscuits , country ham, grits and homeade apple butter. Great variety of veggies at noon with dumplings. Only problem it gets a little crowded.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wallypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Daughter had chicken fried cubed steak, who is a salt fiend. Couldn't eat it between the oversalted meat, the salted breading and the salty gravy she quit after a third. Green beans and garlicky instant mashed potatoes were good. Cheese grits were bland and watery. I had the Western omlette which was very good. The biscuits were outstanding and the Applebutter was fantastic. Careful walking in, the floor is as slick as a skating ring even with sneakers on. (no water on the ground, not sure if it is greasy but it was crazy slick)

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DieLuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

One of the reasons we have enjoyed Moose Cafe was the pork free gravy at breakfast. Then last week we discovered that they changed their recipe and added sausage, at least at the Greensboro location. Very disappointed! Hey folks: You can always add and ingredient, but once added, you can't take it away. Bad move!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

Even though the seasonal menu list stuffed french toast, we were told that this is the only item you can only get on weekends. Ordered country omelet and it was big but skimpy on meat. Had plenty of potatoes, mushrooms and onions. They have oily margarine on the table for the biscuits but said they could get me real butter, but what she brought out didn't taste like butter. Also they charged us $1.50 because I shared my omelet. SHAME SHAME!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Moose Cafe also viewed

Been to Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.