We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Bad”
Review of Monte de Rey

Monte de Rey
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Clemmons
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Elkin, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pretty Bad”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I went there at lunch on a Tuesday and the place was almost empty. That should have told us to wonder. Husband got fajitas which were fine for him, but how hard is it to make grilled peppers, onions and meat? I had the chili rellenno with a enchilada and both were pretty awful. The enchilada was filled with mystery ground meat with a hard stale corn shell and nothing else. The rellenno had the same nasty meat with no poblano pepper at all! Just 2 wads of meat drowning in fake white cheese. I told the server about it and he looked at me like I had horns growing out of my head and reacted with a big "huh?". When the manager/owner/cashier asked us how the meal was, I told him about the chili rellenno and rather than say anything like, "I'm sorry, how can I make you happy, ...", he proceeded to give me a lecture that a rellenno was made from poblano peppers and blah, blah, blah. Nothing about me telling him that there was NO PEPPER in my dish. Love how he thought blowing me off was customer service. First and last visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Livewiretrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the place for really good authentic Mexican food. Always cooked to order and it comes out hot and fresh. The service is very quick and the chips and dip is bottomless. I usually go with the nachos especial and the wife gets the nachos salad that comes in the big shell. The facilities are clean with a 99 grade as of last week. The best thing on the menu is the 32 oz Dos Equis dark with 2 slices of lime on the rim for $2.50. Boy does that go with the chips. Prices are very good and the servings are LARGE. If you leave there hungry, it is your own fault.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boatdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best Mexican tacos I have ever had!!!! They are authentic and delicious. The prices are reasonable and the plates are fairly large. I visit often when I'm in North Carolina.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go There Regularly”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Have enjoyed Monte de Rey after going to all the various Mexican restaurants in Clemmons for the past 16 years. We usually eat around 11:30 on Sunday after church. My wife usually orders the Pollo Loco; I go with the Fajitas Texanas or the Speciall Dinner (which is huge). Very busy at times; inconsistent wait staff attentiveness, drops this rating from a "5" to a "4." Nevertheless, we'll continue to eat there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Phone calls more important than service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant three times and will not go back. The food is good, but not good enough to make up for the awful service. Our salsa was cold as were our chips. Our food took 45 minutes and wasn't hot. Other patrons arriving after us got their food sooner. Worst, our waiter stayed on the restaurant phone on a private call the whole time and never brought a check. I gave up and went to register to pay where he was standing still on the phone. I was waiting quietly for him to hang up when he said, "Are you going to pay your bill or what?" I said, "You never brought one." He walked off and left me standing there while still speaking in Spanish on the phone. Someone finally came to help me but couldn't get the computer (which he said was new) to work. Then couldn't get it to take a credit card. I offered cash but they couldn't figure out the change. Even after I gave him the amount he wouldnt trust me but refused to give me my money back so we could leave. No way I was leaving a $16 tip or any tip at all so I waited. After 20 minutes trying to pay I finally got out of there. Rude and incompetent staff will have this place out of business soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiddioMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte de Rey also viewed

 

Been to Monte de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing