We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tanglewoof Dog Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanglewood Park

Tanglewood Park
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Clemmons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1,200-acre park was once the estate of William Neal Reynolds, brother of tobacco businessman R.J. Reynolds. The Reynolds willed the Tanglewood property to the citizens of Forsyth County to share as a public recreational park. The combination of its streams, woodlands, and grassy pastures with the traditions of its architecture, horses, gardening, and wide range of recreational activities make Tanglewood an ideal countryside park to visit over and over again.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tanglewoof Dog Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I got to take my grand-pups to the newly finished dog park and had a great time. Well behaved dogs and owners were present. This is a nice addition to the park.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cpnestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Tanglewood Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Hello cpnestel!

So glad you enjoyed Tanglewoof! We hope to see you again the next time you are in town! Thanks for writing such a kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    76
    13
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Having been to see the lights for many years with children and then grandchildren, really wasn't excited to go this year "just the two of us"........but when we got in WOW! The lights are now all LED lights in the displays and what an amazing difference and brightness. All the displays see to come alive! There's a few "new" ones interjected in with the standards but the standards are truly refreshed! They also have the 4 lines going in now rather than only 2, Sheriff Deputy's keeping traffic moving as best as it can and yes there is a wait, but be prepared, plan for it and ENJOY!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NASAILIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unsatisfactory, At Best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Last Saturday, we ventured to Tanglewood Park for the "festival" of lights, as we had heard that it was a "must-see" attraction. There were several signs on I-40 indicating that spectators should not use the exit indicated on their GPS, but instead take the following exit. We briefly got lost, as there were no visible signs after taking the next exit. We happened to drive up on some cops on a dark road directing traffic, and so we assumed they must have been directing us into Tanglewood. We followed their signals to the right and ended up on a windy path through a wooded area, sparsely lit. The path did not seem long, but it turned out that we waited 1 hour and 25 minutes before we even got to the entrance to pay $15 for our family of 4. (At this point, it is 10:30 p.m. and the kids are nearly asleep. When they say "expect long wait," they should indicate just HOW long you should expect...) When we got through the woods, we discovered that there were THREE entrances of vehicles converging together through the entrance! The price may not sound like much, but we have been through "free" neighborhood displays with as many, if not more, lights...

So we get in and we're driving along--there really are some beautiful displays, though some of the lights were not turned on--and the kids need to go to the restroom. We stop at the red barn toward the exit and take a walk through. It appeared that local artisans had some nice things to sell, but the purpose of this particular trip was not to shop. We find the port-a-pots only to discover that each one is absolutely wretched. Nobody likes to use them anyway, but these were in the worst condition I've ever seen. (In fact, our 5-year-old daughter cried and refused to use it.) We're thinking, if we paid $15 to drive through this place, could we not at least have a decent restroom on-site?

Then we see that there is a short line to see Santa--about 5 kids in front of us--so we take the kids in the tent with their lists. When we get inside the wooden shed, 30 minutes later, Santa starts directing them to do all sorts of poses. He was polite, but we were not there to see Santa for a professional photo shoot. It was well after 11 p.m. at that point. We felt obligated to purchase pictures since they just spent 15 minutes snapping away (another $15 for 3 pictures on a disk--not even a printed picture or a souvenir frame!), but we weren't all that impressed with those, either.

It didn't help that a small child puked in line behind us (nobody offered to clean up the mess) and then a guy rammed our vehicle with his door when we were leaving the barn because parking was so tight, but that's all beside the point...

They also offer hayrides for $135 and carriage rides for $80 with advance reservations. CRAZY prices considering we had the opportunity for a free carriage ride the next day. "Dining" is also non-existent, as they only offer food from a vendor in a truck. Based on the overall experience, I can't say I'd recommend this attraction at all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Destination_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“First Timer Left Feeling Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We expected a long wait time so the 90 mins it took to get to the gate was ok with us. The actual show was missing something? Some of the lights are pretty, albeit not holiday themed.
It did not feel like much of a holiday festival, lots off farm animal themes, birds and forest animals. Some of the areas you can only guess what they are supposed to represent. It was a waste of time. And although it was inexpensive, not worth the money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Waste of Time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The lights were okay, but not worth waiting 3 - plus hours in line to see. You are literally trapped once you turn in from the highway. You can't turn around once you jump in line. There's a very poor system in place managing traffic. We pulled in around 7:00pm last Saturday night and didn't get out until midnight! We had no water or food and were literally miserable. Don't do it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanglewood Park also viewed

 

Been to Tanglewood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing