We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Anniversary Stay at the River House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River House at Chimney Rock
Ranked #1 of 5 Chimney Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Anniversary Stay at the River House”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the River House in November for our anniversary. We were concerned about bringing our toddler, but were quite pleased at how helpful Mandy (the manager/hostess) was at assisting us with our needs while also making sure the other guests were happy. She put us in a room on the main level where we could have more privacy. It worked perfectly for our situation. Both Mandy and Brittany are super sweet and helpful. Mandy recommended a few restaurants, one being the Esmeralda, and we chose it for our anniversary dinner and it was fabulous. We enjoyed being walking distance from all of the shops and Chimney Rock State Park. The River House is right there in town, so there are options for eating. Tia B's is highly recommended for great authentic Mexican! We also enjoyed breakfast each morning and having our coffee on the porch overlooking the pretty river. Our window in our room was giant and had a lovely view of the river as well. The house is a cute, cozy place and I loved the decor! It was very eccentric and felt very cozy. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay! Thank you, Mandy, for making it such a great weekend! We will be back! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
81
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I set out each weekend in whatever direction the road takes us. We arrived late and as always with no place to stay. It was cleanliness of the exterior and the view of Chimney Rock in the background that drew us to the River House. We had never stayed in B&B before and wasn't sure what to expect. Upon interring we were in awe by the renovations and pains taking work that had been put into the restoration. Our hostess made us feel right at home and took us on the grand tour of her beloved home. Her excitement and friendly personally was contagious. We were invited to stay in any room of our choose. Every room has a charm all its on and choosing was out of the question. Breakfast on the deck in the early morning sun was a relaxing way to start our day. As we were readying to leave our hostess did something that will remain with me forever. No big chain motel or cabin rental place we've ever stayed has ever done or will ever do. She made sure we were packed with empty of water for our day of hiking in the heat of the sun. Thank you for making our stay feel like being with family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondi J, Owner at River House at Chimney Rock, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a charming review and post it! We try very hard to make sure our new friends/customers are happy and comfortable and are always happy to read a review like yours!! So happy your first B&B stay was with us and you loved it! Come back again and go ziplining, horseback riding, hike Chimney Rock Park, or swim in the river behind the house in the summer!
Thank you again and so happy you loved your stay! Rondi Jennings/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff made our stay feel like we were with friends at their home for the weekend. The breakfast was great every morning and I really enjoyed drinking my early morning coffee overlooking the river from a rocking chair on the deck. You will not find a place more relaxing and welcoming then the River House!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke5817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondi J, Owner at River House at Chimney Rock, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you, Luke for saying you felt like friends staying in our home for the weekend! By the time you both left, we felt like you were new friends, too, and it was a pleasure having you stay with us! Hope to see you both again soon! Rondi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norlina, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had such a wonderful time at River House at Chimney Rock this summer. Such a charming place and the hostess was so gracious and attentive to our every need. I felt so at home and loved and so cared for. We will be sure and visit again when we are in the area and I highly reccommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms were charmingly decorated and had great views of the river,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a returning visitor of the River House and the River Runs through it room . I must say the below review is outrageous and rude. The Owners and all employees are some of the most caring , sweet and professional people I have met on the road. I can say this due to the fact that every single week I am on a plane and staying in hotels REGULARLY.

The River House is a cozy , clean, and relaxing spot in the heart of some of the most beautiful mountains and relaxing river/ lake. As for being next to a miniature golf course .. yes it is... Never did I hear noise from the golf course but actually was able to create some awesome memories with my mother there. The best spot to just get away from the hustle and bustle of life.

As for the hospitality. The River House was made aware on one of my return trips that I was coming back for a special day ( My birthday), Upon check in there were balloons in my room and later in my stay for the ENTIRELY PACKED HOUSE and ALL GUESTS there was cupcakes and birthday cake! YOU TELL ME WHAT FULL SERVICE MARRIOTT OR FIVE STAR RESORT DOES THAT?( WITHOUT SPENDING AN ARM AND A LEG FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE AND SOME CHOCOLATE COVERED STRAWBERRIES!?!?!?)

I would without a doubt recommend the River House at Chimney Rock to anyone!

Room Tip: River Runs Through it room! Love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyROXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you look at the River house picture, you would believe this is a quite bed and breakfast alongside a river... A river there is on one side, but there is also a busy street on the other. The room was ok, but fairly dark. The patio would have been nice but, because there is a mini golf right next to it, we were unable to use it. What I would normally expect from a bed and breakfast is an owner who would be there to welcome you and help answering questions about the area. We were introduced to our room by a mere employee. The next morning at breakfast, there was just a cook and her daughter. The breakfast was cheap. A little bit better than a free breakfast at a regular motel, nothing more. Overall, this was a pretty disappointing stay. Better than a motel experience, but not worth the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Solange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I are from Florida and had never been to Chimney Rock before. We were delighted the River House was right in the very best part of Chimney Rock on the river and walking distance to the restaurants and shops. We felt right at home in this ecclectic and cozy bed and breakfast. We chose to stay in one of the bedrooms upstairs where we slept like babies to the sound of the river. We awoke to a homemade breakfast by Mandy, who talked with us about things to do in Chimney Rock and nearby communities while providing us with a hearty breakfast. We loved the homemade cinnamon rolls! River House seems to attract a certain crowd, because we met some of the most intersting and wonderful people there during our 5 night stay. We had great recommendations from Mandy and the owner on fun hikes to take and different sights to see while we went to the nearby towns of Asheville, Black Mountain, Brevard and Hendersonville. We can't wait to go back to River House and the respite it offers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are best for the view and for sleeping to the sound of the rushing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondi J, Owner at River House at Chimney Rock, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy you stayed with us and enjoyed your room and the location in Chimney Rock Village. We hope you will visit again soon and we will give you some more suggestions of places to hike and things to do!! We are so happy when a guest loves Chimney Rock as much as we do!! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
0.1 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
5.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House at Chimney Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House at Chimney Rock

Property: River House at Chimney Rock
Address: Highway 64/74A, 307 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720 (Formerly Wicklow Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River House sits on the Rocky Broad River in Chimney Rock, NC. We are just steps away from the quaint town center and just a quarter of a mile from the entrance to Chimney Rock National State Park. You may rent single rooms or the entire house. There are 3 rooms with private entrance and outdoor decks. We have one room on the first floor that is convenient for wheel chair access and two suites on the second floor. One suite has 2 bedrooms with a kind and two twin beds. The other suite has 3 bedrooms with a king and 2 queen size beds. We serve breakfast from 8:30 am - 10:00 am when we operate as an Inn. If the entire house is rented out to one person/group, you are welcome to use the kitchen to make your own food. There is also a main deck off of the kitchen/dining room where you can look up and see Chimney Rock. Or, you may choose to look down and watch kayakers, fishermen and rock climbers in the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wicklow Hotel Chimney Rock
Wicklow Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing