We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
Review of Carter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carter Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed September 12, 2008

I rated this inn as average, but only because it is older, not fancy, and does not have a lot of amenities, BUT what it does have is one of the best views of Chimney Rock right on your balcony. It is also on the river, which the views are very relaxing.

It is also Clean! It is older, the beds are not the best, but worth the $88.00 we spent on the room on a Monday night. We were looking for a view and we are smokers. You cannot smoke in the room, but you can just go out on the balcony in the room and sit there and look at the view to smoke. The owners were very nice and they let us check in at 11:00 am, which was very helpful to us. No coffee makers or other little luxuries in the room, but coffee is downstairs in the morning made for you. No breakfast either. The toiletries only consist of soap. The TV worked okay and the air conditioning was also very good.

They have an outside back yard on the river that you can sit out at with recliners if you desire. My main objective was cleanliness. Even though it is not sparkling, I did not detect any smells or noticeable dirty areas.

We would stay here again just for the view. It is awesome. We also requested room #1 after looking at it. It is on the 2nd floor and the view was the best of the rooms available.

  • Liked — The View of chimney rock right from your balcony
  • Disliked — No amenities, no toiletries and the beds need upgraded bedspreads
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank truthisbestadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Carter lodge and paid $95.

Upon arrival, we paid and got the keys to the room. We had one of the rooms on the front, so our room had a balcony. If you have a room in the back, you have access from the garden. In both occasions, you get a lovely view over the river and the Chimney Rock !

The room was very clean, as well as the new installed bathroom. The decoration was a bit older, but it suited perfectly with the environment. The entire family really enjoyed it.

One tiny thing, in the morning when I woke up at 6.00 am, i stepped out on the balcony to enjoy the view over the river and rock and then it bothered that all the airco's made such a noice...

But I surely can recommend the CARTER LODGE.

  • Liked — location and the view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennis_touch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

My husband and I spent one night at The Carter Lodge. This motel is nothing fancy, but very few places to stay in this area appeared to be. The location was fantastic, right on the river with views of Chimney Rock. Lots of seating out back to sit and relax and enjoy the view. The room is your typical motel fare, quite bland, but it was clean and appropriately priced for what you get. The owner was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sahedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Thank you to the hosts for a welcoming stay. We drove all the way from Pittsburgh directly to Chimney Rock, so by the time that we got to the Lodge it was almost 10 pm. Having some difficulty finding our way in the dark, the thoughtful owner patiently gave us directions over a cell phone that was breaking up in order to help us. He bent over backwards to make sure that we found our way, and then gave us a choice of vacant rooms to meet our needs for the night. Shortly after checking in, we walked out of our room's balcony to find a beautiful view (by day or night) of a babbling, flowing creek and the Chimney Rock. Immediately helped me relax and begin to unwind into vacation mode. Thanks again to the owners for their hospitality, attention to detail, cleanliness. I would definitely recommend that everyone stay at the Carter Lodge when visiting the Chimney Rock/Asheville area.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CIAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

This is a wonderful place to stay. Reasonably priced. The view of Chimney Rock is straight outside your back door. The lodge is right on the French Broad River. The owners were extremely hospitable. The owner Joe gave us great advice on some of his favorite restaurants in the area. Great, inexpensive place to stay for a weekend getaway!

  • Liked — the view and hospitality
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank got2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We traveled from Missouri to this Inn not knowing what to expect. The windy mountain roads made us later than planned but the owners waited up for us. Our room was clean and cozy and was wonderful. But the best part truly was just outside our room. We could walk and see the water. We had a porch swing just outside. And looking up we could see Chimney Rock looming over us. I just loved this place!

  • Liked — The view and the swing
  • Disliked — The drive to it was hard
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank julieannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsboro, AL
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

My husband and I just stayed at the Carter Lodge in Chimney Rock during a visit to Lake Lure area. I rate this small motel/loge above average for this area. For the price paid, it was great. The room decor was pleasant and the bathroom crisp white and clean. We enjoyded the balcony overlooking the serene river and looking up to the Chimney Rock. Good views. We do not spend much time in the room, so its size is not an issue...while there we were very comfortable though. The owners are very courteous and helpful. We really like parking right in front of the room.

Helpful?
3 Thank alabamacoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
0.9 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
12.7 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
458 reviews
15.3 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
0.1 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Lodge

Property: Carter Lodge
Address: 273 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carter Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing