We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”

Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come experience the excitement of prospecting for gemstones! We are located on the banks of the Rocky Broad River in historic Chimney Rock Village (just 20 minutes from Asheville). Rock & minerals of all kinds have been found like:Emerald, Ruby, Garnet, Peridot, Amethyst,and many more! We provide the equipment & we guarantee a find every time.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We went here for some gem mining and we had a lot of fun. We were able to spend some time in this lovely town. Loved visiting the mine and the staff was very polite

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank retirednlovinit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was a birthday outing for me, and it was fun! I 'found' a bunch of gems in my bucket and I'm even having jewelry made from a beautiful Tiger Eye piece. And, Sarah was very helpful with all her expertise of every gem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wow, spectacular view of chimney rock and the falls. Nice little town, lots of local craft shops. Plenty of food places, a must see for families.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank witcheypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An afternoon in Chimney Rock”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I took my son (he is 9) over Spring Break to Chimney Rock for a day of hiking and sight seeing. He asked to go Mining and I found the Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine online. The staff was friendly and always available with helpful information on what we were finding. The price was $25 for about a 2 gallon bucket of dirt. The highlight of the Mining was the baseball size crystal we found in the bucket. They have great riverside hiking trails and good access to parking. Plan on psending about an hour to 90 minutes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AVLMTN2SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing