We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverwatch Bar & Grill

Riverwatch Bar & Grill
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Altagracia Province, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Due to crowd, we couldn't eat outside next to the river, but it wasn't the restaurant's fault. The food was excellent. The service a little slow, but the crowd could account for that. Will eat here again when in the area

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwatchBarGrill, General Manager at Riverwatch Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We greatly appreciate your finding the time to review us. It does get pretty hectic here this time of year so we are grateful for your patience when it came to our service. We look forward to having you visit us again. Give us a call ahead of time and we will be sure to hold a table on our back deck for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    135
    50
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

A great place to hang at the bar relax, laugh and make new memories with old friends. Our little bar tender, Tiffany, was an absolute gem!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PamelaJLooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwatchBarGrill, General Manager at Riverwatch Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review us! We are so happy to hear that you had such a good time. Tiffany is the best! We don’t know what we would do without her (or her bell!) We hope you’ll stop by to see us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DO NOT EAT HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Server disappeared and my husband had to go to bar to ask for utensils and to pickup drink order and to ask for check to pay so we could leave. Our "server" was too occupied talking to other staff at bar to wait on us. The bacon cheese fries were served cold with orange processed cheese whiz and the baked beans and chili were canned. This place is totally overpriced for such low quality of food and service. Don't be deceived by the pretty river view out back. You will still leave very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwatchBarGrill, General Manager at Riverwatch Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Its never easy to read reviews like this as yours, as this is one of the most brutal reviews we have ever received in our 15 year history. We try to ensure that everyone who visits the Riverwatch Grill has a positive experience. We stand by our quality of food as our burgers are 1/2lb Prime Angus Beef Burgers, we use only Boars Head Premium Meats and Cheeses, Fresh Local Produce, Gourmet Buns and French Breads, the list goes on and on. It’s disappointing that you based the rating of our food as a whole on 1 item out of nearly 75. And for the record we do not use “orange processed cheese whiz”.

We deeply apologize for the issues you had with your service. That was certainly not our best and was completely out of the norm. Please know that we have utilized your review to make swift changes among our staff so that the kind of behavior you experienced never happens again.

In the future, and I’m sure I speak for most restaurants when I say this, I hope you will take a moment to alert management when you have any issue while dining. You gave us absolutely no chance to remedy what was clearly a very distressing visit. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and it pains us that we were not given the opportunity to address your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We ate here and asked to be inside because it was so hot outside. Even though we were inside, we sweated through our whole meal. The food was okay, but couldn't eat it because we were so hot.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mom2mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwatchBarGrill, General Manager at Riverwatch Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do our very best to keep the climate controlled in our bar dining area. However, with our back wall consisting of 80% glass, on those rare especially hot days you experienced, it can be difficult to keep that area as cool as we would like. In fact just this year we installed an 8 ton AC unit and additionally have a commercial a/c unit installed to assist with better controlling the temperature in our bar dining area. Most days we have it just right. We are sorry that your first experience here was unsatisfactory and hope you’ll give us a second chance when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a group of six people and decided it would be neat to eat here. When we walked in there was no one seating us. The very young wait staff saw us standing there and continued to go on with there business. When we were finally seated we got a seat on the deck which was a cool experience. We ordered 6 of the appetizers which we thought were a little expensive for what you get but they were good. With the appetizers being good we had high hopes for the food....we were wrong. I ordered the southern burger which has chili on it. The burger was charred and it looked like instead of re cooking it they just put more chili on it to cover it up. Another person in our group got the hotdog that's fried. After 3 bites of it and finding 2 hairs he was done with it. The Reuben was delicious though. Two people in our group ordered the spicy chicken strips. Those were $8 for 3!! And it didn't even come with a side. Very disappointed that I spent what I did there and didn't even get to eat a full meal

Helpful?
4 Thank Logan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwatchBarGrill, General Manager at Riverwatch Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We welcome all feedback from our customers. We value everyone’s business and we are always striving to provide a wonderful experience for everyone that walks through our doors. We wish that you would have alerted management to the problems you found, we would have done everything we could to remedy the situation. We wanted you to know that we’ve made several improvements based on your feedback; Including offering sides with our chicken strips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverwatch Bar & Grill also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Riverwatch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing