We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait for food”
Review of Genny's Restaurant

Genny's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Chimney Rock
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Long wait for food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We sat outside, which was nice because we were right by the rushing river, but our food took half an hour to arrive (the order was scrambled eggs and a burger with fries) and it was okay, but nothing great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BKT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    80
    49
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate SC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food for the price - get dessert!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We've eaten here many times, and is the place we pretty much always eat at whenever we pass thru or visit Chimeny Rock. Very nice, friendly service. Good homestyle cooking. AMAZING desserts are a must!!! Portions are plentiful. Get a seat on the back deck, pretty much ON the river.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rc5695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Southern Delishousness....”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Breakfast...do it, dont pass Chimney Rock without a meal from Genny's.

Yes, you will notice a great religious influence...meh, order some delish southern biscuits with gravy add some bacon and sausage and grits if you dare. YUMMMM

The servings are massive, food is good southern fare and the service is lovely. Pick a booth on the deck for a beautiful view while you sip your sweet tea.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pixieloz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

most tourist attractions can boast moderate to ok food. maybe they figure your here so you must eat something! Not so at Genny's. The food was plentiful and well worth doing after you visit Chimney Rock!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank deborah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Average Food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Be prepared to be inundated by the marketing of Christian clothes, music, bumper stickers, etc. within the restaurant (think a smaller version of Cracker Barrel gone strictly religious). The staff is extremely nice and accommodating. The food is basic. I tried the Carolina Burger (2 thin beef patties, slaw, and mustard).

This restaurant gets extra kudos for staying open during days/times while the rest of Chimney Rock shuts down, i.e. "off-season".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genny's Restaurant also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Genny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing