We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Entertainment was Great!!!”
Review of Old Rock Cafe

Old Rock Cafe
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Start the day off right with one of our signature biscuits, which are named after the places folks love to visit in the region. Whether you want a Bearwallow Bacon, Egg and Cheese Biscuit or a savory Florence Preserve Biscuits, we have something for you every Saturday and Sunday. During lunch, enjoy a local grassfed burger, grilled sandwiches, salads and fresh baked fruit cobblers at this down-to-earth diner located at the entrance to Chimney Rock State Park. Relax outdoors on the riverside deck with a great view of Chimney Rock and the Rocky Broad River rushing by. Try one of the local craft brews or sip on a glass of wine. Check out the memorabilia of the "Rock" covering the walls for a glimpse of what life was like here over the past 100 years.
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Local Entertainment was Great!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location and entertainment on Friday night was Great!!!. The food was a little pricy but they did offer senior discounts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LewieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Old Rock Cafe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear LewieD,
Glad you enjoyed our live music on Fri. & Sat. nights in July! We bring back the local musicians on October weekends as well. Good to hear we were able to save you some money with our senior discount.
Safe travels,
Old Rock staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    60
    31
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outside seating is the way to go”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After climbing the rock we had lunch here with the family. View and sounds of river are great. 15% discount with receipt from entrance to park. Food was descent and service is fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smitty1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fast Food at Restaurant Price”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Pricey lunch considering you order at a counter and self serve plastic cutlery and drinks. Indoor seating is spartan. Deck seating nice with views. Oh yes, and paper towels for napkins!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ces032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Old Rock Cafe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ces032,
We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations for lunch. We're now constantly looking for ways to add fresh, local ingredients to our menu. Our 100% grassfed beef burger from Hickory Nut Gap Farms in Fairview is quite popular, and we offer fresh baked fruit cobbler and our own award-winning chili recipe in the late fall/winter. Hopefully you'll give us another try with our recent improvements if you're down this way again.
Sincerely,
Old Rock staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sandwiches & drinks overlooking the river”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped in while walking around the town's shopping venues. The daily special is the most economical way to enjoy the menu. On this day, it was a bacon cheeseburger, fries and drink for $6.50. The burgers are normally over $7 alone. The chicken salad pita was selected by one member of our party, and it was very good. Fries are cut with the skin on, which we like. A decent assortment of bottled beer is available, along with a self-serve fountain. They also have T-shirts and sell tickets to the Chimney Rock park. We will remember this place for future visits. Located right next to the entrance to the park.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Slatesintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot to eat”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had two eldery people with us who were thrilled to have a view of Chimney rock, the river and Hickory Nut Falls. We had to take our food to go because the portions were so big.I loved the home mad potato salad. The sweet potota fries were great! The staff were very friendly. Our meal was served quickly. You couldnt beat the view. I was glad we stopped there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lynifer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Rock Cafe also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Old Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing