We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Restaurant”

The Esmeralda Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Known as one of the best Chimney Rock restaurants, The Esmeralda Restaurant is the perfect place to dine during your stay with us at the Inn. Our menus reflect our exceptional attention to detail through carefully crafted dishes and combinations. We take pride in providing our guests with the very best service, ingredients, and overall atmosphere as they dine in our Chimney Rock restaurant.
Black Mountain, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this Restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We live in the area and love dining out on the patio by the creek....a truly gorgeous setting. The wait staff is attentive and friendly and the food is consistently excellent! One of the many things that pleases me is that they use fresh, local ingredients and support our regional farmers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    29
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World class service!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of having Kim as our waitress. We were there visiting Chimney rock and decided to have dinner here. The Inn itself is beautiful, the restaurant, simple yet sophisticated. When Kim came to us, I noticed she was a very spirited individual, she was very personable, and made sure we were comfortable and happy. Kim's service to us was more than what you would expect from an average waitress, she gave us a world class service and experience. When we received our food, it was absolutely delicious. I had the shrimp and grits, and my girlfriend had the special of the day which was a white fish entrée. We also had the the duck wings as our appetizers. Everything was very presentable, professional, and exquisite.

Helpful?
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful wine, food and service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our family ate here on Friday, July 18th to celebrate a birthday and Kim was our server. It was amazing. Kim was incredibly attentive and knowledgeable. We discovered a new amazing wine. The fried green tomatoes with homemade pimento cheese were delicious (I don't actually usually like pc!). Our family had steak, bison and a fish special that was incredible. Desserts were bourbon cheesecake, chocolate/oreo torte and a chocolate/caramel tart. Everything was absolutely delicious and we highly recommend it to others. The weather wasn't great but it looks like the outdoor patio would be a wonderful place to enjoy a meal or just a drink and app. We will definitely be back. Thanks to Kim (and the chef!).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, De
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Found a Chimney Rock gem!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Every once in a while you get lucky! We were recently vacationing in Lake Lure, NC and were in search of a nice place to have a 50th anniversary celebration lunch for my in-laws. My wife and I scouted the area a few days before and happened upon The Esmeralda! If you like cool places to go I recommend this highly! The lunch menu was extensive and they even allow you to choose off the dinner menu all day if you like. The portions were "for the hungry" sized which we were! Sara was our waitress and she did a remarkable job of handling the large group. Go there! Enjoy the views, hear the nearby water fall, and I am sure you will be writing your own review!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drunknmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brunch before hike”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Well sure glad we hiked up chimney rock after this becasue we ate every single crumb of both our meals! Service was great, food excellent,views stunning and best of all the tourists were all down the road in front of the Chimney rock entrance! Definitely will stop again and looking into booking for fall!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CelestialCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Esmeralda Restaurant also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Esmeralda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing