We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view is amazing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duncan's Bar-B-Que - CLOSED

Duncan's Bar-B-Que
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The view is amazing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stopped here because we were looking for good barbecue. The food was average to good, but the view was amazing. We had pulled pork sandwiches with 3 sides. for $7.00 each. Sandwich was good, potato salad (if it was store purchased was good), baked beans were canned, with onion added, cole slaw, mac & cheese, were also good. The inside was clean. They are not open Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I would stop there again if I was in the area, but would not go out of my way to get there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank craftinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    7
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Everything in this restaurant is from a can! It was expensive and you completely serve yourself, which I could have lived with if the food was good but it wasn't. Please don't waste your money or time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mulwee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awful food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Don't get sucked in. If you're looking for authentic Carolina bar-b-que, don't go here. You're paying to eat by the river with a view of chimney rock. The food is mediocre at best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go early!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

A nice surprise for our week at Lake Lure. A short trip to the nice town of Chimney Rock and it was open! Been here plenty of times and have found Duncan's closed! I guess when they run out of BBQ they close for the day.
Had the ribs, which were fine, and of course the pulled pork. The pulled pork with their sauce was excellent. I think most people will enjoy the food from Duncan's.
Try it you might be surprised

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hdfrompbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it, decent food but a great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped in for lunch after climbing a Chimney Rock and were delighted. Don't head here for a fancy meal, or modern restaurant, but if you're looking for small town North Carolina charm then this place is perfect. The owner is sitting behind an old wooden bar right by the door, and chatted to us for nearly the whole time it took for our food to be prepared. The dining room is filled with old kitschy photos, license plates etc, and adds to the experience. I've had better BBQ, but it was better than average and very reasonably priced. Would highly recommend to someone visiting from out of town looking for a memorable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanryan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duncan's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing