We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Location with sub-par food.”
Review of Duncan's Bar-B-Que - CLOSED

Duncan's Bar-B-Que
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Scenic Location with sub-par food.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've eaten here several times over the years when passing through chimney Rock. The food gets worse each time. Ordered a BBQ plate and hot dog. The BBQ is shredded and soaked in an uninspired sauce. The coleslaw is terrible. The Potato Salad is the same you buy packaged at any grocery store. The hot dog was a fat one, that's good, but the quality of meat in it was pretty yucky like the 'pink slime' meat. I suggest you go there only for the view of the river and mountain. You will have to order food for those views. The views are great. Cash only. No Credit Cards. No ATM. Their BBQ gives a wrong impression of what NC BBQ really is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rebjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    7
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best BBQ”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is only opened Th-Sunday? It is located in Chimney Rock town on a nice spot on the river that you can look at while u eat. On the advice of this website, I stopped in and grab half a slab of hot ribs and a pulled pork sandwich to go. While waiting for the food, the owner was nice and spoke to me about his retirement. The food came out pretty quick and I was off to my cottage to eat with the family.
The ribs were hot and the bbq came on the side but it was hard to pull the meat from the bones. The pulled pork sandwich bun was fresh but the pulled pork had the consistency that it was put through a blender and look unappealing.
This is the only bbq in Chimney Rock so go there if u r craving bbq but if you want some really good bbq, I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view and BBQ too!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped here on our way to Chimney Rock Park for a hike. Great food, fast service. But the view alone was worth the trip! Eat on the picnic tables by the river, or inside with an amazing view. Worth the visit! Could have used some bread with the BBQ, but everything else was perfect!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still gagging while writing this review!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped in for lunch before visiting Chimney Rock. The stuff that they called food was not even of quality to feed to a dog. While waiting for the slop we noticed rodent poop along the window sill and a trail of ants which led to the sauce on the table. We threw away the container of sauce with hundreds of ants in it. By this point we did not even want to eat here. When the order was ready we took it outside thinking that getting out of the nasty dinning room would make things better.....Wrong! One bite of this crap and we were both ready to vomit. The smoke coming from then" restaurant" is fake. This BBQ was definitely made in the microwave. ( we even heard it ding while waiting) Our $20 lunch went straight into the trash can where it belong. This is by far the nastiest place I have ever been in. Duncan's shame on you! Thinking about making a complaint to the health department. This is not BBQ or food for that matter. Do not eat here! It will likly end in food poisoning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank 295Shan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good 'cue”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

'cue and mac & cheese very good, take out our table side by the river, owner is talkative and likes to share stories

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank albertdelgarbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duncan's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing