We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Duncan's Bar-B-Que - CLOSED

Duncan's Bar-B-Que
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is a great barbque place. Nestled in the village of Chimney Rock with rumbling brooks as the backdrop. Great family place to spend a day or days with lots of family fun!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    7
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best barbecue in chimney rock.”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My mother actually got me hooked on this place. She use to bring us to chimney rock years ago and sadly one of our favorite places is no longer in business (child's corner)-they had the best breakfast food around chimney rock but thankfully Duncan's is still open. The owner is super friendly and cooks his bbq over wood the old fashion way. And you can tell it in the flavor. The scenery is beautiful. Through the years, he has overcome the flood that threatened his business. Everytime we talk about old memories and then we start talking about going back to chimney rock, we have to always make Duncan's a stop on our list. Try it, its well worth the money and your time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southernangelcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the food and the view.”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great to eat North Carolina BBQ and sit next to the Broad River.
My BBQ Pork was fantastic, but my wife's BBQ Chicken was tasty, but a bit dry.
The owner is a HOOT!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 04xfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must Visit for Authentic BBQ”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Love, LOVE this place. Nasty facilities, sketchy looking help, iffy cleanliness in the eating areas......AWESOME Barbecue! It's cooked outside the back door right on the river. You can see the old smoker going from most of the windows. It just doesn't get more authentic than this dive. You'll come back from more, laugh about the condition of everything about the place and tell you neighbors that they have to try it too! Don't miss this experience in country dining. It's a hoot!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank NCFlutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Straight Up BBQ”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Order at the counter, pick it up and eat. Nothin' fancy, just GOOD BBQ! Great views of the river and the falls.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sun_and_Rum_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duncan's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing