We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do - worth the climb”

Chimney Rock State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chimney Rock at Chimney Rock State Park is an international outdoor destination in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western NC, attracting visitors from around the world. Highlights include:- 75-mile panoramic views overlooking Lake Lure- 404-foot waterfall, one of the highest of its kind east of the Mississippi River- The Last of the Mohicans scenes were filmed here, and Dirty Dancing was filmed in adjacent Lake Lure- ancient geologic formations- 198-foot tunnel & elevator inside the mountain- five scenic hiking trails- guided rock climbing & moreThe Park's modernized elevator offers a handicap-accessible 35-sec. ride to the iconic Chimney, an alternative to "nature's Ultimate Stairmaster," the Outcroppings trail. Chimney Rock has something for everyone from the family-friendly Great Woodland Adventure trail to the stunning Skyline trail to Exclamation Point. Recognized as one of the Southeast’s most iconic outdoor attractions, Chimney Rock is located 25 miles southeast of Asheville on Highway 64/74A in Chimney Rock, NC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must do - worth the climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Worth the effort !!!

There is a total of 872 stairs - 491 stairs each way .

You must go all the way to the top to see exclamation point - stopping at the flagpole is really only half the attraction

Very well maintained stairs - so fairly easy to do if you do not have any health problems

Obvioulsly not suited for heart or lung problems

A must do !!!

Worth the 2 hour drive from the smokey's to do this - totally made the trip

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank greereng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,110
    473
    113
    36
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but disapointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I enjoyed the view from the chimney but was extremely tired when I got there. The elevators was out of order even though I seen a few people riding it. I think the price was right though I think there should've been a better discount since the tour for the waterfall was closed and the gift shop was high. But overall a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynbrft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear lynbrft,
We're sorry you had to deal with our elevator being out of service during a power upgrade project. I know the hike can be a lot, even exhausting, and you hung in there to reach the great views from the top! The few people you saw riding the elevator could have been the electricians working on it, as it was closed to the public during construction. The waterfall trail closure was unfortunate too, and they continue to do cleanup for it's scheduled 2014 reopening. Safe travels, and come see us again sometime.
Best,
Chimney Rock staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great view from all the main spots. The trail to the falls was closed because of a rock slide. Hope you like stairs, there are a lot of them, but it is well worth the effort. The grounds and stairs were very well maintained. Great view of Lake Lure. Don't stop at just the flagpole. Go all the way to the top. Will return and go again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Yes, we climbed to the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

On the day we were there, the elevator was out of order, owing to power problems we were told. We climbed all 491 steps to the top and the view over the surrounding countryside and Lake Lure was worth it.

I sometimes suffer from a fear of heights, but the steps were sturdy and well maintained, as were the barriers at the very top, so I felt fine. There are also plenty of resting places on the way up. Great sense of achievement to have done it under our own steam. On the way down, we passed a lady who looked to be in her late '70s climbing steadily upwards, so well done to her.

You can get a drink at the top in the snack bar, or the shop at the base of the steps sells cold drinks, postcards, gifts, etc.

We would have liked to do some of the other walks to look at the waterfall, but as we were on a tour we didn't have the time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJLHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

An awesome place to see the beautiful sights of Lake Lure. Also great to see where "Last of the Mohicans" was filmed. Great gift shop also.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NanaNita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimney Rock State Park also viewed

North Carolina Mountains, NC
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chimney Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing