We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of steps but oh so worth the cilmb!"”

Chimney Rock State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chimney Rock at Chimney Rock State Park is an international outdoor destination in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western NC, attracting visitors from around the world. Highlights include:- 75-mile panoramic views overlooking Lake Lure- 404-foot waterfall, one of the highest of its kind east of the Mississippi River- The Last of the Mohicans scenes were filmed here, and Dirty Dancing was filmed in adjacent Lake Lure- ancient geologic formations- 198-foot tunnel & elevator inside the mountain- five scenic hiking trails- guided rock climbing & moreThe Park's modernized elevator offers a handicap-accessible 35-sec. ride to the iconic Chimney, an alternative to "nature's Ultimate Stairmaster," the Outcroppings trail. Chimney Rock has something for everyone from the family-friendly Great Woodland Adventure trail to the stunning Skyline trail to Exclamation Point. Recognized as one of the Southeast’s most iconic outdoor attractions, Chimney Rock is located 25 miles southeast of Asheville on Highway 64/74A in Chimney Rock, NC.
North carolina
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lot of steps but oh so worth the cilmb!"”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our first visit to Chimney Rock Park and we couldn't have picked a better day weather-wise: 60F,sunny with blue skies. The park is very easy to find and parking was straightforward . We paid $14 each to enter and were a little bit disappointed to find that at least half of the view points plus Sky Lounge along the Chimney Rock trail were closed for renovations . This wasn't made known to us at the gate (we were only informed of the non functioning elevator which has been non-working for some time now). However,on the plus side the trail is very well constructed and maintained,clearly signposted and worth the climb (not for the fainthearted though or anyone with heart/health issues as it is a LOT of steps ).
After the Chimney Rock view point we continued on upwards to the "Exclamation Point" which is the top -most point of the trail .We also hiked down to the Hickory Nut Falls!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank cameramum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear cameramum,
We're glad you enjoyed your recent visit to Chimney Rock and were treated to such a beautiful November day! Please note that our admission was discounted to $12/adult due to the planned elevator modernization and Sky Lounge renovation. The view points that you refer to being closed must be the Subway, Grotto and Pulpit Rock. According to the state's new master plan for Chimney Rock (see chimneyrockpark.com for more details), these are high on their priority list to reopen after some improvements are made. We're glad you got to enjoy some of the best features of the Park now -- the Chimney, Exclamation Point and the 404-foot waterfall -- and we hope you return again next year to check out our improvements reopening in the spring.
- Chimney Rock Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,177
    499
    116
    37
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A little pricy”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The park is scenic and well maintained but the elevator to the top of the chimney was not operating. My wife and I took a hike to the falls. There was no visitor center The admission was $12 each which I thought was kind of high for what they had to offer.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TomFromBellaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear TomFromBellaire,
Thanks for visiting us recently. We're sorry that you were unable to ride the elevator up to the Chimney -- the elevator modernization is scheduled to reopen in the spring. The new elevator will offer increased reliability, speed and capacity, so it should be well worth the wait! The state's new master plan for the Park includes plans for a new Visitor Center further down the road.

As for admission, Chimney Rock has limited capacity and is very labor and maintenance intensive due to the unique amenities (elevator inside mountain, stairs, bridges, walkways, shuttle service, trail guides, etc.) and exceptional customer service that the staff provides. Admission prices have not increased since 2003. In our efforts to maximize the value we offer our guests, admission prices have been reduced and more programs, live music and free hikes have been offered at no additional cost during our major improvements. We hope you come visit us again and check out our improved trails next year!
- Chimney Rock Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach , Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a good workout hike”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We hiked to the top of this gorgeous granite rock and the views were breathtaking

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank yeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Rocking Trip”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Its Rocking experiance with friends.even lake lure also very nice place.we enjoyed our vaction.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Joshua T,
We're glad you and your friends had a rockin' time in Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. Be sure to come visit us again soon!
- Chimney Rock Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I knew the elevator was out for upgrades, however I didn't realize that I would be walking up so many stairs, was slap wore out by the time I got to the first viewing area. Felt like I had been on an elliptical machines for an hour. Had to sit & rest for about 10 minutes. But the views were worth the climb. I looked & the second set of steps to the Opera Box & said can't do it. Hiked to the falls, other trails were closed for the season or for remodeling. Will definitely return.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beachkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Beachkat1,
Congratulations on making the trek up to the Chimney! It can be a challenging climb but is well worth it. It takes the average fit adult about 25 minutes to hike up the stairs, and there are many places to rest, catch your breath and enjoy the views on the way up. Please check our website when planning your next visit so you're aware of all of the trails open. We are doing some exciting capital improvements this winter , and our elevator will reopen in spring 2012, along with newly rebuilt stairs on the Outcroppings trail to the Chimney.
- Chimney Rock Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimney Rock State Park also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
North Carolina Mountains, NC
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chimney Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing