We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Customer Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falls Country Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Reviewed July 8, 2012

There are really not too many options in Chimney Rock and this has to be one of the best hotels in Chimney Rock Village. It is a family owned and operated hotel and everyone is very friendly- wonderful customer service. The rates are reasonable considering that everything else in Chimney Rock is over priced for the quality that you get. The rooms could use a little TLC- the tile in the bathroom is cracking, the ceiling fan looked like it was going to fall off, and people smoke on the balcony, so if you are a non-smoker you can't really enjoy the view of the waterfall without having to breathe in second hand smoke. The rooms have very nice flat screen TVs and DVD players (they provide free movie rentals too!!) I would recommend this place to others. You can't compare it to Embassy Suites, but for a small mountain hotel it is not bad at all :)

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor if possible so you don't get stuck with someone noisy on top o...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. We try to make our guests happy.We are planning on replacing some bathroom tiles in the winter. We will take a look at the ceiling fan. All rooms are Non-smoking but
for our smoking guests we have ashtrays outside. Our guests seem to enjoy their movie time in the rooms. We hope to see you guys again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Falls Country Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay over 4th of July. We had a wonderful stay. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. We loved sitting out on the porch outside our room and looking at the wonderful view of the falls and Chimney Rock. The owners are wonderful and despite the fact that they had a "full house" on the 4th, were available any time we had a question about something. We will definitely be returning for our anniversary in October, sooner if we can!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gdbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review.It sounds like you enjoyed staying here. Our guests really seem to enjoy looking at the beautiful Hickory Nut Falls and Chimney Rock. Despite the busy July 4th, we were happy to accommodate our guests and make them happy.We look forward to seeing you again for your anniversary in October! :) Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Old style rooms but as clean as I have seen. Owner and wife do it all including cleaning rooms. Take pride in their place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Some of our rooms are modern looking and charming. We try to upgrade rooms one at a time. Yes, we do take great pride in maintaining our business! We hope to see you guys again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We ended up here on accident. The place we booked ended up overbooked due to a glitch. So they sent us down the street (literally) to Falls Country Motel. Which was nice since the rest of my family was still at the other spot. This place was really nice and clean. I was impressed and enjoyed the room. Someone up on the balcony above me made an awful lot of racket in the morning packing up I guess and at one point sounded like someone dropped an iron anchor down the stairs, but other than that the stay was very nice. The staff were very friendly, helpful with questions, and they offer discounted rates at nearby attractions too! Your room key gets you discounts at various places too.
The room was well lit, had a fridge that was extra cold, which came in handy in the heat, a coffee maker, TV and DVD player. They had videos you could check out to watch and sodas and water available for purchase. They are open later than some of the other motels, which is always nice if you need something last minute before bed. The grounds were well kept also with flowers, etc. They are right next to the road, but really, it's not that noisy since it's not a main highway. This is not a full room-service type place with spa, restaurant, etc. So if you are expecting that, then don't be disappointed. It's great without all that and everything is soo close by, you don't really need it!

You could walk down to the village for shopping. There are lots of places to eat and shop and the riverwalk to dip your toes in.

It was really hot and I prefer going back in the fall, although the cold, icy water from the river was soooo refreshing. There is something so peaceful about this town. It's beautiful and truly a hidden gem nestled in mountains with beautiful rock cliffs surrounding it and the lake down river with a beach. The roar of the river with all the rocks and boulders and the cute town of Chimney Rock and Lake Lure another minute down the street, just really a special place.

Room Tip: Two levels. If stairs are a problem, stick to the first floor. all rooms face out to street, so no...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nestlesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed staying here with your family. We are sorry that someone up on the balcony above you made an awful noise in the morning. However, as you said, the rooms are clean and nice with all the basics. We try to keep the rooms spotless.It was great having you and your family with us. We hope you'll all come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend for our 5th anniversary! Great place to stay! Room was cleaned with all the basics! Owners were very very nice! Able to watch movies in the room and relax. Close to the Chimney village/park & lake lure! Best view of Hickory Nut Falls! We enjoyed our visit to the area and highly recommend this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review! We very much enjoyed having you guys with us. We are glad you had a good time for your anniversary. Yes, it is nice to watch movies in the room and relax. Our guests love free movie service. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Chimney Rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Visited this motel on June 3 & 4,2012.The room was clean and well equipped.The owners were very curteous and helpful with other things to see and do other than Chimney Rock.We were looking for waterfalls especially.The owner went out of his way to locate nearby waterfalls in the Dupont National Forest and Pisgah National Forest as well as directions to return to our destination.There were a couple of things that were of concern(towels were not replaced 1st night)but owner explained there was a sign in the room that hanging towels would not be replaced unless requested.After checking,he was right-the sign was placed in the tray with the towels.The bathroom is small-there was no room to put toiletries.The hot/cold handles were hard to turn on/off,but worked okayI would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a clean but without "extras"

Room Tip: outside room on lower level was very good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write your thoughts. We appreciate your comments. Unfortunately, older motels have smaller bathrooms than we would like. We will look into possibly putting shelves on the walls for additional storage. As far as the towels, we put the sign in the bathroom to conserve energy and wear and tear. We hope you enjoyed the waterfalls at Dupont State Forest and Pisgah National Forest. We truly live in beautiful area. It was nice talking to you guys and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Myself and 3 young grandchildren stayed one night in June 2012. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well tended. Right in front and UP from our motel room door wasa view of the Hickory Nut Falls! Exactly where we were going to hike to in the mornig -- it was great inspiration! The beds were very comfortable -- we all had a good nights sleep. Everything in the room was working and well maintained. I will definately look to stay here again on our next trip to Chimney Rock.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We enjoyed having you and your grandchildren stay with us. The view of the Hickory Nut Falls is very popular with our guests. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chimney Rock. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
0.7 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
116 reviews
1.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
12.3 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
#3 of 5 in Chimney Rock
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Country Motel

Address: 676 Main St., P.O. Box 99, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: $59 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Motel located just outside of the village of Chimney Rock with beautiful views of the Hickory Nut Falls and the Chimney Rock lookout. Close to Lake Lure beach and Chimney Rock State Park. The 11 cozy rooms have been remodeled recently and are furnished with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing