We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use To Be The Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins
Black Mountain, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Use To Be The Place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

Evening Rest use to be our favorite place to stay in Lake Lure but it is not the place it use to be. The former owners made you feel welcome and made you want to come back again and again. It is a great location on the river, It's a shame the new owners treat their guess so badly, so bad in fact that we will never stay there ever again. I don't think they will be in business long with their attitude toward guest. Lake Lure Inn is the best place to stay, Walking distance to several nice restaurants. Very Clean and you definitly feel welcomed there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terryc9313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

My Husband and I and my two teenage children stayed here this weekend. Couldn't have picked a better place. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The best part is the back of the lodge. Absolutely beautiful place to relax. Sit and swing by the river. Picnic areas. Fire pit. Fishing right out your back door. My son caught a trout. Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smparker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed at the moose lodge room rustic which we loved, room was clean and comfortable and the view of the river and chimney rock was excellent. This is a perfect getaway for a couple or a family. The owners take pride in there quaint river lodge. The rates are also very reasonable. We will definitly come back and stay again. Thank you for a great little getaway!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampson1SouthportNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

I've been traveling to the Lake Lure / Chimney Rock area and staying at Evening Shade for the last 7 years. I LOVE this place!! The beautiful grounds with views of Chimney Rock park and the 400 ft. waterfall are gorgeous. It is so peaceful and relaxing by the river where you can enjoy a good book. All the rooms face the river with little porches or private balconies. Every evening they have a bon fire by the river where you can gather with other guests and talk about your days adventures. This area is so convenient to Black Mountain, Asheville, Hendersonville for shopping and dining and the drive to these areas are beautiful. It's also close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and many other hiking and sight seeing areas. I try to get to The Evening Shade a couple times a year, it's my home away from home. The new Managers, (well new since June '09) Jackie, Les and their son Adam are awesome very kind, friendly and truly care about the inn and their guests. Thank you...Jenny & Jay New Smyrna Beach, FL.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnk4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

I can't say enough good about this place! my husband and I have been as a couple and with family and friends and they have rooms available to meet your needs. All the rooms are decorated so cozy and my favorite part is they have a camp fire by the river every night! SO don't forget your hot dogs and marshmallows!! Some rooms even have full kitchens available. Within walking distance to the little shops in Chimney Rock. We are already planning our trip for the spring. We can hardly wait!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tappinmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover SC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

Everything about this trip was excellent. The room was beautifully decorated and had a perfect view of Chimney Rock. We had bonfires at night where we could mingle with other guests. The hosts were friendly and asked often how we were doing. The other attractions around Chimney Rock were great also. The store keepers were friendly and when they found out it was our honeymoon, they treated us to several small tokens (for example a rock with love written on it and a Chimney Rock penny). If we didn't want to shop, we could take walks along the stream or just enjoy the privacy of our room. We are looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaCloverSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

Our experience at this cabin was the worst we have ever had staying anywhere. Our first day there after we had been seeing the local sights, we were accused of breaking pool cues and were told we would be charged for them. We were not guilty of this. The cabin was called the Lazy Lodge and the name fit. There was dust under all the tables and along the baseboards about an inch thick. It had backed-up sinks, 7 broken windows, shower knobs that fell off in your hands, an unusable fireplace, broken laundry facilities, loose toilet seats that took you for a ride when you sat on them, no sheets for the futons or trundle beds and the kitchen light flickered when you touched the switch. We were told by the owner's son that the shower had backed up in the master suite and it smelled like sewage. The towels and sheets that were on the beds were all soured. After returning home, we were then charged for a missing Dirt Devil charger and ruining 4 towels with bleach even though there were no laundry facilities. Out of our original one night deposit, they kept around $90.00. We recommend you do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Specialop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
1.8 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
0.9 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
14.8 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins

Property: Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins
Address: 745 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins Hotel Chimney Rock
Evening Shade River Lodge And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing