We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in North Carolina”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Loganville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places to stay in North Carolina”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Life does not get any better than this. The new owners (The Kellys) will make sure you have a great stay. Their staff is there to asist you with all you needs. My wife and I will be going back! If you go to Chimney Rock and don't stay at The Esmeralda you miss out on of the best places there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roninloganville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I'm delighted you had a great stay with us. Please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    86
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
102
364
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Upon opening the door, you are immediately impressed with the decor...like the staff, warm and inviting. The whole facility is clean and impressive! Dinner was awesome, from appetizers through dessert; and matched by the service. A cozy room, complete with a flat screen TV and a Bose system alarm clock, made for a completely wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. The Inn is a lovely place and we truly enjoy sharing it with our guests. We hope you'll return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We only stayed one night as part of a North Carolina road trip, but our experience here was very positive. The building is beautiful and our room was nicely appointed. There is also a general sense of space, since the Inn has fewer than 20 bedrooms and lots of public areas, such as a huge recreation room. Staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant serves excellent, although quite pricey, food. We'd certainly stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Thank you for your review. This is the third incarnation of an old Inn. When it was rebuilt, the owners made every effort to retain the flavor of the old Inn. I'm delighted you enjoyed and appreciated the building as well as the experience of The Esmeralda! We hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Good Location with mountain view, close to chimney rock and crossing the street is the small river., we enjoyed play in the water.
Friendly staff and we hv a good deal bcaus the hotel have bed & breakfast package.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Thank you for your review. The location is one of our best features! Our packages offer even more adventures. Come back soon and we'll help you plan more fun times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Nice building, comfortable room, lots of potential. The restaurant seems like an afterthought, horrible service, mediocre food, no bar.
Un hosted "Wine tasting" was pitifully simple and boring.
Our reservation was not completed as promised and we needed to stay at a competitors property the first night. No one seemed to really care after they dropped the ball over and over.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1515Doctor_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
We appreciate all our guests comments. As in any business, sometimes a mistake is made, and we do our best to remedy the situation. I'm very sorry this guest felt we didn't care about any problems they may have had. It's our goal to make every guests' stay an enjoyable one. To clarify, we don't actually have wine tastings. We do offer our guests wine and lite Hors D'Oeuvres every evening. As we're in a dry township, there isn't a bar in the restaurant. We do, however, offer two complimentary glasses of wine per person with dinner. I hope this guest will return and give us the opportunity to offer them the same great experience the majority of our guests report having when they stay with us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CHARLESTON
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Nice place to stay. Nice rooms, comfortable, close to town, beautiful views.

We did ask for an early check in and were told they couldn't promise that until the day before arriving. So we called the afternoon before and was told no problems we could check in anytime after noon. We left our previous location and arrived at 1:00pm only to be told the room was not ready and that the person we spoke to must have "lied". Not very professional, and it messed up an entire day of planning for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npclv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thank you for your review. I'ts unfortunate there was a misunderstanding regarding the check-in time. We have a 3:00PM check-in to give our Housekeeping staff adequate time to make the rooms perfect for our next guest. If the room was occupied the night before, and we have many rooms to prepare, early check-in isn't possible. I'm sure no one deliberately lied about the check-in time. Sometimes, conditions change (such as a walk-in occupies the room) and we have to make adjustments.
If the room is prepared and available after 12:00 Noon, we're happy to let our guests check-in early.
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We (13 folks) stayed here for our annual corporate retreat. By renting the entire inn, we were able to use the upstairs lounge and lobby area exclusively for our meetings and casual gatherings. We brought our own alcoholic beverages and served them from the kitchenette upstairs...perfect! The staff was gracious and easy to work during our entire stay. Most attendees plan to return at a later day with their friends or families. Michael's restaurant (attached bldg) was amazing as well! Delicious food, beautiful presentation, and twe had the option of eating inside or out. Of couse, the views are spectacular and the location is only 2 mi from the beach (and boat rides) at Lake Lure. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattibriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thank you for taking time to review The Esmeralda. We're so glad you were satisfied with your stay. We welcome groups and do our best to accommodate their needs. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
134 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing