We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Inn with an Incredible Staff!”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

It isn't very often that a group of people take you in and make you truly feel like family. This historic, impeccable inn is worth a trip out of your way to visit. The rooms are outstanding, views and sounds of the rushing river make it the perfect getaway. The grounds are beautiful and you must visit the "poolcuzzie" (their version of an over-sized hot tub). The outdoor fireplace for just sitting around or making 'smores is very relaxing. The dinner at the on-site restaurant was outstanding! Check out the daily specials. We will not stay any other place when we're back in the Chimney Rock, Lake Lure area in the future. Hat's off to Scout for making our stay a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 2nd floor with balcony access. Nice rockers and cushioned sofa and chairs overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We think of the Inn as home and really want our guests to feel the same way. It's gratifying to hear we succeeded!

We are in such a beautiful spot. While we try to maximize the impact of the views, we can't take credit for them. We are fortunate to have dedicated gardeners who take great care of our grounds and keep them looking natural and beautiful. I'm glad you enjoyed the stone patio and jacuzzi area. It's a great place to spend the evening.

I believe we have the best restaurant in the Hickory Nut Gorge! I would think that even if I didn't work here. Chef George and his staff do a superior job.

We are very fortunate to have a staff that takes pride in the Inn. From our Front Desk staff to our Housekeepers and all the Kitchen staff, they are the best!

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 609 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

A great night in a wonderful historic hotel in Chimney Rock / Lake Lure area. Small town friendly feel in a very comfortable wood and stone hotel. Staff were outstanding and helpful, and the room was well appointed with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.
The restaurant and chef provided us with an outstanding dining experience out on the open deck.
A very good hotel experience overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for the great review! The Esmeralda has been in existence since 1891.There is much history here. This building is the third incarnation of the Inn, but we've kept the flavor and the warmth of the old Inn.
We have a wonderful staff. We are very fortunate to have people who take as much pride in this beautiful Inn as we do!

We get many compliments on our beds! They are exceptionally comfortable.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

More than a B&B, the Esmeralda is a tough act to follow for any traveler to the Asheville area -- you'll be spoiled by the setting, the atmosphere, the warm & friendly staff and just about everything else. We loved our two nights here, including a delicious dinner and sitting out on the upper deck listening to the river just across the road. It was a perfect spot to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary ...... also met another couple who was there for a birthday getaway. With a very comfortable room, gorgeous scenery in every direction (including the inn grounds) and so much to do nearby, you just can't afford to pass this up ---- you'll feel pampered and sad to leave, just like we were!

Room Tip: Room 10 is a 3rd floor corner room with mountain views and lots of windows .... very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are in a truly beautiful location. The sound of the river is so peaceful and the views are gorgeous. We think of the Inn as home and want all of our guests to feel the same. People come here to have fun, to relax and escape the hectic world outside.We try to facilitate that wherever possible. There is much to do in the area, or you're welcome to rock and read!

I'm glad you enjoyed the Restaurant. Chef George and his staff do a wonderful job for us. We get many many compliments on the food and on the service.

Please don't wait another 30 years to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you want to relax amid natural beauty and be treated to the best service, we recommend The Esmeralda Inn at Chimney Rock, NC. Brunch was great! Rocking on the front porch and listening to the Broad River rushing by was so relaxing!

Room Tip: If you want a larger room, as for a corner room, but really, there's so much to do, you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your review! There is little more relaxing than rocking, maybe with a glass of wine, and listening to the river. I'm glad you enjoyed the front porch and the food! Next time, try the Jacuzzi and the outdoor fireplace.

Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a one night stay here. Our only complaint is that we could stay only one night. The inn is fantastic. We really appreciated the hot tub and the stone fire place on the outside patio. We built a fire and enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine out there while watching the moon rise. We also enjoyed the restaurant (especially the grits at breakfast). One thing worth mentioning is that there is access to the Rocky Broad River right across the street and we were able to trout fish. My husband caught 2 trout!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the great review! It sounds like you made the most of one night. The hot tub and fireplace are favorite spots to relax after a day of fishing and playing in the area. Did you have the S'mores?

We are very fortunate to have Chef George and his great kitchen staff. We get many compliments on the food. I hope you dined on the deck. The views are wonderful!

We hope to see you again soon, for a longer visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This Inn is 5-star in every regard. Our room was perfect, complete with a porch right outside our door, delicious food, superior customer service, and very friendly front desk. It is apparent right away that the owners take great pride in their establishment. The grounds are just beautiful as are the fireplace area outside and the hot tub. Chimney Rock and Lake Lure are very close by; the view from our porch was just breathtaking. Thanks to all at the Inn for helping to make our 30th Anniversary such a wonderful experience. Your Inn is beautiful. Wish we could have stayed more than 3 nights!

Room Tip: Choose room #2....the porch is wonderful for enjoying cool evenings or watching the rain move across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! Room 2 is one of our Terrace Kings, and the Terrace is the perfect spot to relax after a day of exploring. And of course, there's the hot tub!

We love the Inn! We have a great staff that takes pride in keeping the Inn clean and welcoming.

We're in the perfect location to enjoy all the Hickory Nut Gorge has to offer.

I'm glad you were with us for your anniversary and hope you'll come back every year to celebrate with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I needed a little R&R from our education jobs after school let out and The Esmeralda Inn was the perfect retreat. After a long drive we arrived at the Esmeralda and after checking in immediately headed for the hot tub. It holds about 18 people but we were the only ones we saw using it during the two days we were there. It was so relaxing being able to kick back in the hot tub while watching the clouds float by and the moon rising over the mountains.
The staff was friendly and helpful. There are only 14 rooms, which is a nice size for an inn. We ended up with a double queen room when we had to change dates. It was a beautiful, spacious room and very clean. We spent a lot of time out and about, boating on Lake Lure, hiking around Chimney Rock, and driving on Blue Ridge Parkway so we missed dinner at the inn, but the menu looked great. A couple of days at the Esmeralda was just what we needed. We are already checking our calendars to see when we can return in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyb859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the great review! This is the perfect area to escape to, for relaxation and for a myriad of fun activities.

I'm glad you enjoyed the hot tub! There is nothing better at the end of a day of play. Next time - S'mores by the outdoor fireplace.

I agree, 14 rooms is perfect! We are small enough to be intimate and large enough to accommodate small weddings and business retreats. Best of both!

Visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.5 mi away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
22.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), NC
12.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: $165 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing