We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great hospitality”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
South Elgin, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great hospitality”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Esmeralda as part of a get-away weekend as well as looking to relocate to NC. The indoor decor is very warm and relaxing. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was clean and comfortable. Relaxing evenings spent on the balcony with wine or bourbon overlooking the lush mountains. Hot tub was awesome after a long day of walking at the Biltmore mansion in Asheville. Owners are very friendly and service-oriented. We utilized the pool table and air hockey table in the huge game room which is decorated exactly as I would decorate my game room. Breakfast environment was very serene and low-key, food was good consisting of cereals, bagels baked goods and egg strada.

Room Tip: Some rooms have direct access to a privately sectioned off balcony which would be nice but part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMCD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review! Relaxing is the goal here. We are in a beautiful area, with many things to do, but it's really nice to come back to the Inn, relax in the hot tub with a glass of wine and enjoy the view. I'm glad you enjoyed the great amenities the Inn offers.

We think of the Inn as home and want our guests to feel the same. I hope we succeeded.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    86
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
103
365
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very good hotel, right near Chimney Rock State park. It was a perfect way to celebrate a anniversary with my wife. The rooms were just as we had expected and the hotel was very modern with a Outdoors experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rslindemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are vigilant in keeping our website honest. There is nothing worse than thinking you're going to a nice place and when you arrive, it is nothing like the pictures!
It sounds like you might have enjoyed the Jacuzzi and stone patio area, the rocking chairs on the porch and/or the Deck off the Dining Room. We do have great outdoor space!

The old Inn was very rustic, but well loved. This version has been modernized, but we've kept the flavor of the old Inn.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in one of the smaller rooms. The room was lovely--very clean and comfortable. The public areas are beautiful; dinner was delicious at the hotel's restaurant; the town is interesting; the view from Chimney Rock breathtaking! We hope to return again when we visit relatives in Asheville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modernexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! Some of our rooms are not large, but we think that is part of their charm. We are very proud of our 100% Cleanliness rating from the NC Dept. of Health. Our Housekeepers are the best!
This is a beautiful area and we are so fortunate to have the location we have. I think we have the best Restaurant in the Gorge, and it certainly has the best view!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Esmeralda. The owners were very accommodating, the Inn is a wonderful place, rustic décor, but very comfortable. The large game room on the second floor was a nice added touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raljr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We all think of the Inn as home and want our guests to feel at home when you're here. The 2nd floor game room is a very popular spot! The views from there are fabulous.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

For some reason I wasn't expecting much from the pictures that I had seen online, but I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It had a rustic contemporary look. I definitely felt like I was in the mountains surrounded by their natural décor. Our room was awesome because we could open up the windows and see the rumbling river across the street and better yet could hear it! With the yummy fluffy cloud-like bed and the sound of the river, it was absolutely heavenly! We enjoyed the hot tub outside. We didn't feel like having to get showered and dressed, so the staff was accommodating and served us our gourmet meal outside on the patio next to the wood burning fireplace. We loved our stay! I felt like we definitely got more than our money's worth!

Room Tip: The mountain view side is great so you can see and hear the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It's hard to know what you're going to find when you arrive, just looking at pictures. We try very hard to keep our website honest, so at the very least, you get what you see! I'm glad you were favorably impressed. We get many compliments on our beds!

We are in a great location. The views are hard to beat and the sound of the river is very soothing.
It sounds like you enjoyed many of the amenities the Inn has to offer.

Visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

When you first enter The Esmeralda, prepare to be impressed. The Inn is beautiful both inside and out. My husband and I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning at the on-site restaurant and ate dinner the last night of our stay - it was excellent! The staff arranged for an on-site masseuse, Shiela, who was amazing - highly recommend! It rained the day of our massage and we stayed at the Inn and relaxed in the Activity/Game room - billards, air hockey, puzzles, games - it was perfect . The Inn is located less than a 1/2 hour of many wonderful places to see! After a long day of sightseeing we were able to relax in the outdoor hotub-it is huge. A sincere thank you to the staff for making sure our stay was so memorable!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of their small rooms on the 3rd located in the back of the Inn and next to the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurTrip55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! It sounds like you really enjoyed the Inn and the area. Sheila is great and works with us frequently. We are fortunate to have som many talented people in the area to provide services for us.
Chef George and his staff do a great job. We get great reviews on the food and service.
I'm glad you took advantage of all the amenities the Inn has to offer.
We hope you'll visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband & I arrived at the Esmeralda Inn last week for our two day visit and were so pleased; we extended our stay an additional day. The Inn is absolutely charming and the staff makes you feel very welcome. We ate at the onsite restaurant two of our three nights there and the food was fabulous. Our queen room was not large, but it was clean and very comfortable. We loved sitting on the front porch, looking at the mountains and listening to the sound of the nearby creek. The game room offers something for everyone and is a great addition. We were sad we did not have the time to enjoy the outdoor Jacuzzi and beautiful fireplace area. If we visit this area again, we will definitely stay at the Esmeralda!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We love the Inn and want all of our guests to feel welcome and at home while you're with us. I'm glad you enjoyed most of what the Inn has to offer. Next time you visit, we hope you'll get a chance to try the Jacuzzi and outdoor fireplace. We'll save some S'mores for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
135 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing