We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Mountain Getaway”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Delightful Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Esmeralda is a wonderful boutique inn in Chimney Rock, NC. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and beautifully appointed. The lounge on the first floor has a cozy sitting area with fireplace, and there are rocking chairs on the large wrap-around porch. Complimentary wine and cheese at 4:00 is a relaxing way to end your day, in front of the fireplace, or on the porch. We did not get to try the restaurant, which has good reviews, so we will be back. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms include a balcony. Ask when you make your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We think of The Esmeralda has home and love it when our guests make themselves comfortable and enjoy all the Inn has to offer.

The Terrace King rooms have direct access to the 2nd floor terrace. Wonderful views of Chimney Rock and the Rocky Broad River.

The Restaurant is very good! Please come back soon, stay longer and have dinner with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    86
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
102
365
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband was tied up with work so a lady friend and I went to Chimney Rock for a getaway. We enjoy the beauty of the mountains and history so we drove up to check out The Esmeralda Inn (at their special winter rate). Scout welcomed us and gave us a room with two luxurious beds. What a treat! Being on a winter schedule, the dining room was not open until the following night. Sharron is the delightful lady who checked us out - ask her about her homemade soaps! We came back to the Inn after traveling about and had dinner and met Aileen, one of the owners. She is very gracious and attentive to every detail! The dinner was out of this world. My husband and I will make the drive up to the Inn for dinner soon! Fresh flowers, unique decor, fabulous dining, a wonderful staff, a great history and fantastic scenery make the Esmeralda Inn a real treasure. Do visit and enjoy the experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It was so much fun having you with us. I so enjoyed our conversation as you left. This is a wonderful time of the year to visit. It's not so busy here or in town, so you can relax and enjoy the fire, play games in the lounge and visit with us! We think of the Inn as home and want our guests to feel the same.

I'm glad you got to meet Aileen. She and Doug have made The Esmeralda the lovely, and successful place it is.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked a night here for my husband's birthday as we were planning a day at Chimney Rock. I found the Esmeralda through Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We were greeted by the friendly and helpful Scout, and we were just in time for the wine and cheese reception. It was great sitting by the fire in the lovely and cozy lobby drinking wine and having hors d'oeuvres.

Our room had a distant view of Chimney Rock, which we liked. The room was small, but clean and nicely done. As others have stated the towels are super nice and the bed very comfortable. The only disappointment was that the jacuzzi is closed in the winter.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was fabulous! We tried the oyster appetizer which was tasty, and I had the shrimp and grits which were fabulous! My husband was happy with his ribeye. We also shared the apple dessert which was very good! Service was perfect. The decor of the restaurant is a little plain, but the food more than makes up for it.

We had a lovely experience and I would recommend the Esmeralda Inn to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RHGH2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Scout is a treasure. We are very fortunate in the staff we have.
Our views of Chimney Rock are hard to beat. This is such a beautiful area and we are in the perfect spot to enjoy it! Wine and a roaring fire, perfect.

I'm glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. Chef George and his staff take great pride in providing great food for our guests.

Thank you for the recommendation. We get so many of our guests from friends telling friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away for a quiet, relaxing weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Luckily for us we stumbled across The Esmeralda Inn. The staff was very nice, the rooms were very clean and the food was wonderful. We would recommend The Esmeralda to anyone who wants to have a perfect, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review! This is the perfect time of year to come for a night or a week! It's quiet and relaxing. We take great pride in the condition of our rooms and the Inn. We have a great Housekeeping staff who care about the Inn as much as we do! The Inn is home to us and we want our guests to feel the same.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Esmeralda this last December - found the manager/staff very friendly and the hotel extremely comfortable - a great place to stay a few days. Rooms very in price and also
size - when we got there we found our room was one of the smaller rooms and were lucky to be able to upgrade to a large room for only a small additional amount. Dinner was very good but expensive and only with limited reservations. Due to a misunderstanding on our part, we came down after breakfast (continental included) had been cleared, staff went out of their way to re-serve rolls, etc. for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photostb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for writing us a review! We want our guests to feel at home and enjoy their stay, so if we can accommodate a change in rooms or stretch the breakfast hours a little, we're happy to do so. Some of our rooms are not large, but we think that adds to their charm. There is ample public space with wonderful views and comfortable seating areas to enjoy if you are in one of the smaller rooms.

I'm glad you enjoyed dinner. Our Restaurant is not large either, so meals with us are a little more intimate!

We hope you come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed atThe Esmerelda twice for our first and second anniversaries. What a fabulous gem I stumbled upon! The most cozy and comfortable inn with beautifully decorated rooms and elegant comfy furniture. We have a tempur pedic at home so we never sleep well in hotels, but the beds here are to die for. It's actually frustrating when we go anywhere else now.. Such a great nights sleep with a beautiful view to wake up to. Heated tile floors were fantastic, and the fireplace downstairs made for a great place for a glass of wine at happy hour after a day of hiking in the park. We absolutely loved the restaurant and the fantastic food it serves. I cannot wait to go back. The staff is friendly and welcoming and the new deck with the whirlpool is romantic and lovely at night. Such a great place with great staff who knows what they're doing. We love u guys and enjoy the monthly newsletters!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Wow, what a great review! Thank you. We think of the Inn as home and love it when our guests feel the same way. The beds are wonderful. We get so many positive comments on the beds and the furnishings. We want you to sleep well when you're here!

It's great when we have guests who have stayed with us before. It tells us we're doing something right! I'm glad you enjoy the newsletter.

There are new menus on the website and we're continually looking for ways to make your stay more enjoyable. You'll have to try the S'mores Survival Kit when you return. Nothing like S'mores and a glass of wine under the stars.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my second trip to the Esmeralda Inn with my husband to celebrate our anniversary. We ended up with the same room as last time which was neat! This Inn is just incredible. The staff was very friendly and knew we were 2nd time guests. The rooms are lovely and cozy. We enjoyed the game room again as well. We will definitely be back! This is my absolute favorite place to stay and I tell all of our friends about it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babblinbrunett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We love it when our friends return again and again. I think this is a perfect time of year to visit. The Inn and the area are not crowded, so you can relax and enjoy all the amenities. Some things have closed, but there is still much to do.

I hope you will return again, same time next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
134 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing