We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitiful rooms”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The room looked like a mouse hole, tiny. Wasn't much better than a boy scout cabin. When I complained the owner treated me like dirt and called me a liar. Worst service I ever had!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PatrickC812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Usually there is something to be gained and learned from every review,
even the ones that are not as positive as we'd like. But there is
nothing here. Please look at the majority of our reviews and decide for
yourselves. We appreciate all the guests who take the time to post
reviews and we appreciate honest and constructive criticism. Thank you
to all our guests who use this medium for that purpose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 606 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We're planning our wedding at The Esmeralda from out of state and came into town for some planning. This is now our second time staying here and every time it's truly wonderful. The staff is so nice and helpful, the new chef is amazing (Chef Michael), the rooms are extremely comfortable and have amazing views. The Esmeralda is a perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of our otherwise hectic lives. I'm so happy to have found this treasure to host our wedding weekend as well as a new annual vacation spot for my family. We couldn't be happier. Highly reccomend.
If you come make sure to hike chimney rock, eat dinner at The Esmeralda, and get a morning coffee at the Coffee on the Rocks Cafe. ;)

Ps. We can't wait to show off The Esmeralda to all of our family in November!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarmstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. I know how busy you are right now! It's always so good to see familiar faces. We love it when guests return.

We are so fortunate to have Chef Michael! He is dedicated to quality and freshness and it shows.

We're looking forward to hosting your wedding party. It's very gratifying when our friends want to make us part of a very special occassion.

We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Esmeralda Inn, (in March) to celebrate our 28th Anniversary. It was wonderful! We arrived right around 4:00 on Friday and they had a fireplace going with wine and appetizers in the lobby. Dinner was wonderful in the restaurant.
I had the filet mignon....probably the best I've ever tasted. Breakfast was very nice too. March is a nice time to be there because it's a slow time of year, so the place was very peaceful. The summer and fall would be prettier scenery outside, but it will be a much busier place. We want to go back in the fall next time to enjoy the fall colors. The location is great because it's only 2 miles from the Lake Lure Inn and also it sits very close to the entrance to Chimney Rock.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. We took their recommendation and drove about 40 minutes to Dupont State Forest, which was a great suggestion if you like seeing impressive waterfalls. Also, 20 minutes away is the town of Hendersonville, which had lots of shops and neat little restaurants and coffee shops. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!
Susan & Paul

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you for the great review! This is a great time of year here. It is quiet, so you kind of have the house to yourselves! I'm glad you enjoyed The Restaurant. We're very pleased to have Chef Michael with us. He has brought a whole new dimension of quality to The Esmeralda dining experience!
DuPont Forest is a wonderful, not too far away, resource for views and hiking.

We always try to make our guests' stay a memorable and enjoyable experience. Looks like we succeeded! Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nites at the Esmeralda and hated to leave. There was hot coffee,
pastries, cereal, juice and more for breakfast and that was no charge. The bedding was heavenly. My husband usualy is up by 5 but we both slept till after 8 each morning we were there. Looking forward to coming back and enjoying the spa. This was our 1st time staying at the Esmeralda and we look forward to a visit back. Lake Lure is a beautiful area - if you have
never been give it a try one weekend. You will be back. As a side note there is a new restaurant called Medina's in Lake Lure and we had an excellent meal there. I am assuming
the owner is a chef as there were fresh hot cinnamon buns that we took with us and they were soooo good. Thanks to the folks at the Esmeralda Inn for making our stay unforgettable. Lisa and Ron

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meme6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review! We get many compliments on the great beds! It sounds like you were well rested while you were with us. Next time, I hope you'll be here when The Restaurant is open. The food is wonderful! We serve the continental breakfast on the mornings when The Restaurant is closed, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Everything is made from scratch (except the cereal!). The owners of Medina's are good people and do a great job with their business. Every area needs more than one great place to eat!

Lake Lure is a beautiful area. It's almost spring and things are beginning to bloom. Come back and visit soon. Spring, summer, fall, all wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and the inn is wonderful. The staff is excellent and the proprietors are fantastic and very friendly. The Esmerelda has ensured that we will be returning to Chimney Rock as well as recommending it to everyone we know. Thanks for such a pleasant stay, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make every guest's stay a memorable one and as special as we can make it. We hope you'll make us your spot for anniversaries for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

They are a great place to stay if you have a lot of money. However they have NO help after hours in case of emergencys such as the power going out, etc. They charge your account twice within a week of your stay then a week later one charge will drop off. They call it "pre autherization" on the first charge...and there is nothing they can do about getting it back in your account. (so make sure you have plenty of money in your account for that surprise because they wont tell you about it up front) YOu dont get much for the money either. They over charge for their flowers and strawberries and their food in house. I have been there twice now and both were special because my husband planned the trip. HOwever, I wont be back due to the account being charged thing.

Room Tip: ask for their best room or you will be put in a shoe box of a room where you can hardly move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sb477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review! We are always happy to hear from guests with good and not so good comments. From the not so good comments our staff tries to reflects on ways we might have handled something a little differently.

The stay that you refer to in this review was over the Valentines weekend. During this time we offered rooms ranging from $119.00-$179.00. Your choice was our most expensive room. During the booking you also requested one dozen roses and chocolate covered strawberries. Rose during Holidays tends to climb in price. We do feel though a dozen roses in a glass vase on a holiday weekend are well worth the $50.00 charged.

The Esmeralda like many small Inn’s closes its office in the evening. There is always a person on the property if they are needed. This person can be reached in case of a special need or emergency by simply calling the number that is supplied to each guest at the front desk.
To our disappointment the reason you state that you will not be back to the Esmeralda is unfortunately not in our control. When a debit card is used to book a room some banks pre-approve the amount. Because the card is like cash, the bank does this to assure that money will be in the account when the reservation date comes. This is a credit hold that is later released at the banks discretion. You were correct when you said there was nothing we could do to get it back on your account. This is the banks rules not ours.

We are sorry that your stay wasn’t what you felt to be a good value. We hope that in the future you will give us a try again. Repeat guests are the only way a small business can survive. We value your comments as will do everything we can to make sure other guests don’t have similar stays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I visited here for a quick 2-day weekend get-away.

Let me tell you it was both fantastic and relaxing.

I won't say I was too worried but all the favorable reviews of the Esmerelda had me a little leary...how could everyone who visits have such a great time?

Couple things, the staff is amazing, the restaurant is fabulous, the beds are to die for and the general ambiance is perfect.

They have a great game room with billiards, air hockey and puzzles. (See picture)

We had a fantastic lunch at the onsite restaurant and then asked the owners where we should have dinner. They told us we should have dinner at their place and then their second choice would be a restaurant down the road, Larkin's on the Lake. Well, we made the wrong choice and went to Larkin's on the Lake. Don't waste your time/money. Just eat and enjoy the fabulous food at the Esmerelda. I think they must have some type of professional chef on staff or something.

Anyways, we highly recommend this place as your and your loved ones will have a perfect experience!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review! I'm glad you had a great experience with us. It's our goal to make every guests stay a memorable one.

We recently hired Chef Michael and he's doing a fabulous job for us. He was trained at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, NY. He has experience and a dedication to fresh, made from scratch cooking. He is a great addition to our wonderful staff. We are so glad you enjoyed dining with us.

I hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
17.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
19.4 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: $175 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing