We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing mountain hideaway!”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
North Huntingdon, PA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing mountain hideaway!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend here while escaping a hurricane. I knew nothing about the area and selected it based on TripAdvisor reviews. We visited the Biltmore House and stayed at another property prior to going to Chimney Rock. My husband wanted to do some fishing on Lake Lure so we relocated from Asheville to this wonderful place in the mountains.

We stayed in the least expensive, smallest room in the Inn and were pleased. It wasn't large but for two people it was more than sufficient. I'm a detail person and had a very difficult time finding anything about this property that was not right. It was quite obvious to me that the owners take great pride in the place and have put a tremendous amount of thought into every detail.

We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and were very pleased with it.

The only thing I was a little disappointed in was the fact that I had to ask for an iron and ironing board. They brought it to our room immediately after asking, however, I felt obligated to then return right away in case another guest needed it. The next morning I wanted to iron something and didn't want to bother asking again and left in wrinkled clothes. If they had one room available to guests for ironing it would be great.

While here we shopped in some of the quaint shops in town. It reminded me of Mayberry. We rented a boat on Lake Lure and dined in some of the restaurants. We also went on a Riverwalk and checked out the state park there that has hiking trails to the top of a mountain and to the bottom of a waterfall. We did not do any hiking this trip but I was told those trails were simple and there were more difficult trails in the park.

If you like to see and do a lot I don't know that there is enough in this town to keep you busy for a week. I could stay there forever just relaxing. I loved the 20 person hot tub we had to ourselves and rocking on the chairs on the front porch staring at the beautiful view. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OfcSupport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your great review. This is the perfect place to escape a hurricane! You're right, the entire staff takes pride in making everything as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We are very fortunate to have our great staff.

Actually, there are several of the small ironing boards and irons. I'm sorry it wasn't made clear to you that you could use it as long as you needed it.

There are some wonderful trails at Chimney Rock Park and others within a reasonable distance from the Inn. You will also find zip lining, horseback riding, fishing and a myriad of shopping close at hand. There's a wonderful playhouse in Flat Rock which is about 45 minutes away. But relaxing is what we do best! I'm glad you enjoyed the Spa/Patio area and the Jacuzzi.

We hope you'll return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    86
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
103
365
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Was looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing for our 30th anniversary and found this wonderful Inn on the internet. WHAT A PLACE!!! The service was beyond compare!!! The food was outstanding and the bed was OOO LA LA!! Rooms are small but the comfort is exquisite. Had a gorgeous view of the mountains and grounds. There is a hot tub and outdoor fireplace that is sooo romantic. I can't say enough wonderful things about this marvelous place. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for the great review! I'm so glad you could spend your anniversary with us. We all think of the Inn as home and want all of our guests to have a wonderful time when they stay with us.
I believe we have the best Restaurant in the Hickory Nut Gorge, of course I may be a little prejudiced. ;-)
We are in such a beautiful location and most of the rooms have fabulous views of the mountains and river. Watching the seasons change from our front porch isn't bad either!
I'm so glad you enjoyed the many wonderful features the Inn has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Yes, the rooms are small. One reviewer noted that the room and bath were tiny. That is so. This is an historic inn. Think quaint and authentic, not large and impersonal. That said, the aesthetic leans towards simple elegance, wood, linen, clean lines. The location is quite good and the service is wonderful. It is a dry hotel, so bring your own bottles for dinner. The breakfast is a standout! Buy the breakfast package. I had shrimp and grits and my husband had steak and eggs.I even took photos of the meal (attached). I dare say breakfast was more impressive than dinner. I would like to see more local items on the menu. While there were a few local offerings, our area offers so much from trout to goat cheese that it is a shame not to have a menu sourced local where possible.
Again,service was quite good. We arrived too late for the wine reception, but they brought glasses of wine to our room anyway.
Overall, an enjoyable stay in an historic, charming building.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainFoodie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Esmeralda Inn. The outdoor dining area was beautiful; the hotel was very well maintained; the outdoor spa was very relaxing after a long hot day of golf. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaSaltTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. There's great golf within a few miles. Rumbling Bald and Apple Valley are both beautiful courses. Part of Dirty Dancing was filmed there! I'm glad you enjoyed the area and the relaxing atmosphere. Our spa is our newest addition to the amenities available at the Inn. Come back when it's cooler and enjoy the fireplace in the Lobby! Winters are quiet and peaceful here. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The Esmeralda is a beautiful Inn with a lot of history. Breakfast was delicious & fresh made as well as the afternoon hor 'dourves. The wine was enjoyable after a full day of being a tourist to unwind. Everyone was helpful & nice. The room was small but served its purpose. Quality linen & bedding & very clean. But there was a very large rec room upstairs to relax on a huge sofa watching TV, shooting pool, air hockey, board games & much more to keep you busy. Very tranquil setting sitting on the rocking chairs outside or the indoor lobby sitting room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have a great staff! All our pastries and candies are made in house. Chef Sean takes great pride in using only the freshest ingredients available. Some of the rooms are not large, but we think that adds to the charm. We have such great public areas, guests seem to spend very little time in the rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed the Lounge/Game Room. This was updated fairly recently. If you liked the Lobby this trip, wait till you come back in the winter and there's a welcoming fire in the fireplace. Christmas here is wonderful!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Esmeralda Inn proved to be a great location for part of an anniversary trip to Western North Carolina. It's small -- 14 rooms -- and has an excellent dining room. (It's a bring-your-own-wine place, at least for the time being.) Although this incarnation of the Esmeralda is relatively new, the property has a great history, and it is located in a beautiful part of the state. Lake Lure and Chimney Rock State Park are just down the road for your boating and hiking pleasure. Check out Gale's in the strip of shops just outside the state park for some truly down-home souvenirs and the Old Rock Cafe for sandwiches and sweet potato fries.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomInTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are in a great spot! It's easy to reach many recreational facilities as well as Asheville and some of the scenic small towns in the area, such as Tryon, Saluda and Black Mountain. I'm glad you found some of the great shops in Chimney Rock. We think we have the best dining in the Hickory Nut Gorge, but we may be a little bit prejudiced! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidwell,Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A very nice place to get away from it all. The rooms are excellent, very clean and well kept. The beds and linens are exceptional. The grounds beautifully landscaped are very well kept. The restaurant is also nice with outside seating available, weather permitting. The second floor is devoted to a game room and rendevous area with game tables and a pool table. There is also a large wrap around sofa and big screen for watching games or whatever. Just down the road is the Village of Chimney Rock with several shops and stores. A little further is beautiful Lake Lure. A very nice area to visit relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putinbaygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Esmeralda. It is always so nice to see that our guests enjoy the amenities we have been adding. The outside dining deck and upstairs game room are newer additions to the Inn. We are happy you enjoyed them. Rooms at the Esmeralda are professionally laundered after each guests stay. There is nothing like sliding into a bed with fresh pressed Italian linens. Please don't be a stranger. Ohio is just a days drive. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
135 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing