We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming Inn with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very charming Inn with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

I took my mother to the Esmeralda Inn and needed a room that didn't require a lot of walking or stairs. They were very accommodating. We had a room right by the elevator. The room was very comfortable. The beds are great. The Inn is lovely. It is on the main road through town. We had breakfast there, and the food was great. All the employees were very helpful and went out of their way to provide everything we needed. I highly recommend the Esmeralda Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are happy to accommodate guests with special needs. We like to think we're close enough to town to be very convenient, but far enough away to be quiet! Of course there is the sound of the river and the little waterfall on property.

It's our goal to make every guest's stay an enjoyable one. I'm glad we succeeded!
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    84
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
96
349
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Our stay at the Esmeralda Inn was a very pleasant experience for my wife and I. One of the most interesting things was the fabulous dining offered. The food was beyond your wildest imgination. Our room was clean, modern, comfortable and the view was super-dooper. Our only suggestion would be to add a frig. Besides that I have only praise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for your great review! We are so fortunate to have Chef Sean. He's very creative and takes great pride in providing our guests with a great dining experience, whether it's breakfast, lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch.

Because the rooms are not overly large, we provide refrigerators in the Butler's Pantry on the 2nd floor and in the main hall of the 3rd floor. Should you need a larger space, we are always happy to put items in the large walkin in the kitchen.

It's hard to beat the views here. This is just a beautiful area.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We wanted to get away for a weekend,and the criteria was: mountains, and some place very comfortable to stay because we have a 4 month old baby. I'm so glad we chose Chimney Rock and The Esmeralda Inn to stay at. We had a super comfy stay. The room was clean, and the beds very comfortable. And, most of all, the Inn staff are all really wonderful and helpful folks. My little baby boy (4 months old) made a lot of friends, and seemed to enjoy himself so much, he's missing all the fun now that we are home. :) And my daughter is full of stories for her friends.

I'd like to mention especially that chef Sean went out of his way to accommodate our vegetarian diet and we loved all the food we ate there. We're sure to return for a trip to remember.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your review! This is a great place to get away and relax. We are in such a beautiful spot. I'm glad you had a good time. We have a wonderful staff, who take pride in making sure everything is just right for our guests. Chef Sean is great. We're always happy to accommodate special requests if we can.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived, our gracious innkeepers, Doug and Aileen made us feel at home and like family. Their staff were all very attentive and helped to make our stay a special one. Our room was luxurious, the bed linens and pillows made for very comfortable sleeping. Dinner in the dining room proved to be first rate. The shrimp and grits and the tuna steak and crabcake were delicious. The homemade applecake was the best I've had. Overall, our stay at the Esmeralda was an exceptional and memorable experience. Can't wait to plan another stay at the Esmerald, perhaps for a family reunion or even a wedding!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonastrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We think of the Inn as home and love it when our guests feel the same. Everyone loves the luxurious linens! It's our pleasure make your stay a relaxing one.
We are very lucky to have Chef Sean and a great kitchen staff. We like to think we have the best food in the Gorge!
We'd love to host any special events you have in the future. This is a great place for small reunions and weddings. We look forward to making your next stay as memorable as your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Esmeralda. Rustic elegance describes the Inn perfectly. Attention to detail is evident inside and outside the Inn. We enjoyed sitting on the porch having our coffee in the morning or a glass of wine before dinner. The landscaping is beautiful and the azaleas and dogwood were in full bloom. There is also a lovely deck with umbrella tables to the side of the Inn that makes an ideal spot to have breakfast. They were finishing a beautiful jacuzzi and massage area out back with an outdoor fireplace that we will look forward to using when we return next time.
Everyone was very friendly and accomodating to all of our needs. We enjoyed several chats with Doug and Aileen, the owners, who told us all about the interesting history of the Esmeralda. The dining at the Inn is also excellent, and Sean the chef, came out and talked with guests as they dined making sure everyone was happy.
Our room was small but very clean and nice with a wonderful view of the mountains and landscaping below. The bed and linens are luxurious and so comfortable.
We highly recommend the Esmeralda to anyone and we look forward to returning and enjoying the Inn again and again. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review! You were here at the perfect time of year. Spring in the Gorge is breathtaking. We appreciate your comments on the attention to details. This is our primary goal - for every element of your stay to be the best it can be.
Chef Sean is a real gem! He takes great pride in making sure every guest has a great experience.
The Spa area is almost finished. The next time you come, there will be one more place to relax and enjoy our hospitality! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

My husband and I planned a 4-day getaway and stayed at this Inn. We booked it because of reviews on this website and we are SO glad we did! Room was a little small, but all amenities were there. We could see Chimney Rock from our window! The landscaping and grounds are just breathtaking. The staff was great to us--we ate at the Inn's restaurant 3 times and were never disappointed! Beautiful porches/with rockers to relax and sit-a-spell. We definitely will book again next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: just ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thayes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write such a great review! We love it when our guests stay for a few days and enjoy relaxing in this beautiful place. Thank you for including the great photos! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimney Rock, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Great place to slow down and relax. You can spend time sitting on the huge front porch, hang out in the game room, or just relax. Wine and cheese is a nice treat starting at 5 daily, fresh fruit provides a nice plus for breakfast. Staff very nice and accomodating for any additional items.

One suggestion:Shift coffee time in the am to at least 7:00 for those that like to relax and enjoy the calm moments in the morning with just a great cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel noiser due to St traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRNC-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review. That front porch is especially nice this time of year!
I'm glad you enjoyed the many features the Inn has to offer. Providing for a relaxing stay is our major goal. We appreciate your suggestion for earlier coffee. We take our guests' suggestions seriously and will consider the change.
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,529 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing