We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely grounds and an older but well maintained motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Motel and Cottages
Save
You added Pioneer Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely grounds and an older but well maintained motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

i stayed here at the motel with my family but it is not the first time we have been. We went earlier in November merely passing through Cherokee but we returned in June. The grounds were well kept and we stayed down by the river all day. i must say the pool was very, very nice. We stayed in cabin 140. It was clean and had good air conditioning. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area and attractions. We were close towards the cultural things in town and hiking trails as well. We went tubing and had a great time. The owner was gracious enough to let us eat vegetables from her garden. Thank you pioneer motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

What a cute & cozy place. This is definitely our new vacation spot while visiting Cherokee. Very affordable, VERY CLEAN, GREAT customer service & so much for the kids to do, as well as us "older" kids :-) Highly recommended & we are already looking forward to next years vacation!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationQueen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The cottage we stayed in was awesome! The sound of the river from our spacious deck, and sitting by the pool was very relaxing. I would Definatly stay here again. Thank you pioneer motel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to review us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We love families and we are so glad that your family enjoyed our place. Please comesee us again.Thank you, Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beautiful quiet area in Cherokee along the river. Stayed in a cabin with lovely views of the mountains. Easy get away from Charlotte and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlangley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your review. So happy thatyou enjoyed your cabin and your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again. Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We booked a motel in Cherokee NC (online) a few months ago so my wife and I could visit (she shopped and I trout fished) Cherokee. I noticed the Pioneer Motel across the the street and stopped to see what they had to offer. Needless to say on our last visit last weekend we stayed at the Pioneer. It was very clean and quiet. Its not fancy but it is reasonable and the staff is friendly. The motel offered a very convient place to stay and had a streambehind it for a "quick fix" for last minute fishing while between my normal fishing trips to spots on the reservation. When I go back to Cherokee I will stay at the Pioneer. Quick note: Besides the motel rooms they do offer about 4 cabins that are located closer to the stream that sleep 4 of more.

Room Tip: Two of the cabins are located within 100 feet or less from the creek. Both offer a front porch with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonCostner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are so happy that you stayed with us and took the time to review us.We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful Ocoaluftee River. Thank for your observations and we agree 100%. We are not aspiring for fancy. We want to be clean, comfortable, relaxing, and a good value. Come see us again. Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 days. The room was clean and comfortable for 2 adults. We always enjoy Cherokee and are always looking for a bargain. We feel that we found that bargain at the Pioneer Motel and Cottages. The next time we go to Cherokee we plan to get information on the cottages. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Satisfied Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.We look forward to seeing you again perhaps in a cabin next time. Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were booked at another hotel the PAGAENT MOTEL in Cheerokee NC and upon entering were scared of a drive by shooting or possible armed robbery so we decided to look for another room and saw this place its far enough out of town to feel like a get away BUT close enough to be at a resturant in 5 minutes so I love the locale of it...We came for the TROUT fishhing for kids so all the other places were booked and i didnt have alot of cash and asked the front desk if theyd matvh the price on the other nasty motel and they graciously did and we cant be happier with our room...LOOK first off I like it casue its a mom and pop place and not a huge cash grab corparation...NO.2 please understand its NOT the RITZ CARLTON but its a dang nice lil place and for the money you cant beat it our room is EXREMELY CLEAN and the staff was great...I WILL COME BACK MANY TIMES

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proffitt5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel and Cottages

Property: Pioneer Motel and Cottages
Address: P.O. Box 397, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the most unique and quaint lodging options located on the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Indian Reseveration. We offer a variety of ecomonical lodging options for you and your family. We have 21 motel rooms and 7 cottages to accomidate you. We are family owned and operated and take pride in our facility. We welcome you to our property to relax and enjoy your vacation. Our property offers access to the Oconoluftee River for fishing or just playing around. Our property also includes a covered pavillion area, perfect for cookouts or family reunions. We also offer a recreactional area, including an outdoor basketball court for both adults and children to enjoy. Our outdoor pool area has recently been remodeled and offers an inviting atmosphere to simply enjoy the Cherokee sunshine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing