We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“trout derby stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newfound Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newfound Lodge
Save
You added Newfound Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
lawndale,nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“trout derby stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights when the trout derby was going on. we arrived at 11 that moring an room was ready its a large room an very clean to be an older motel. staff was realy nice.not bad for the price we do plan on staying at this motel next time we come to cherokee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    49
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
39
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

It was $75 on a thursday night. Was really looking for cheaper from the reviews. It was clean and the staff very nice! The private balcony overlooking the river is nice. Would most likely stay again. Close to Harrahs too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crockettjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My niece, my sister and I stayed 3 days in Cherokee,NC at this lodge. We booked online and our room was ready when we arrived. The lodge is older, but I expect that in the older areas of Cherokee. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and functional. All rooms are on the river and you can walk all the way down to the river . We tubed to Island Park and it was great fun. There are restaurants and shops that you can easily walk to. You can also get on Parkway or to GSMNP easily with not as much downtown traffic. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All are river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family & I stayed here for 2 nights. Room was large, clean & had a vintage smell that reminded me of trips the GSMNP region as a kid back in the 70's. They still use room keys ( my kids were like " what ? " ) & not a computer in sight !! My reservation was correct & room was ready as promised @ check-in time. Worth looking @ !! Great view of river !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigBrad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. A very nice room with a great balcony with rocking chairs overlooking the river. Within walking distance of several restaurants and tourist shops.A really nice place to stay. An older motel but dog friendly and the staff is wonderful. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I've liked the Newfound Lodge ever since I was a kid and vacationed here with my family many years ago. I've stayed there twice in the last year and had very enjoyable experiences each time. The location is great and several places are within walking distance. There is a river behind the hotel providing nice scenery from your room. The staff is nice and friendly, and the pricing is reasonable. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: I recommend the 2nd floor. You get a better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank awr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Giving 4 stars for the excellent service when we checked in. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is a little "vintage" but very clean and comfortable. It's right on the river so the view is nice from your balcony. The hotel was well maintained and had everything you need for a good night's sleep. The price was comparable to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsP4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#13 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#16 of 29 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newfound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newfound Lodge

Property: Newfound Lodge
Address: 1192 Tsali Boulevard, Highway 441 N., Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Newfound Hotel Cherokee
Newfound Motel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing