We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not let the name fool you”
Review of El Camino Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Camino Motel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Ohatchee, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do not let the name fool you”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We arrived in Cherokee and EVERYTHING was full.We happened upon the El Camino. We stayed in one of the new Jacuzzi Rooms and it was VERY nice. Huge room and bathroom. Right in the center of town. Staff very nice

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allananddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We visited Cherokee and stayed at this hotel for one night. The manager and staff were very helpful. The rooms are large in size and very clean. The hotel was located within walking distance of Harrah's casino and in the middle of Cherokee. Parking was plentiful, the pool very clean and each room had a bench and porch light. I will return to this hotel often and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara49429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2010

It was the cheapest place around town. The staff was great and super nice. Rooms were very clean. Eating places close by. And walking distance to casino if you wanted too. I would highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Price was higher than any room in Cherokee. No breakfast. Charged a quarter for ice.
Will never stay again. Very dark and dingy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asmith71146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I just checked in this motel in Cherokee NC, on walking distance to the Harrah Casino.. Am in room 101, next to the lobby.. Large room, good kingsize bed, clean room and bathroom.. There is a pool and good WiFi service.. So, nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchDerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed on a Friday night in August. The rate was very competitive for a Smokey Mountain motel on a weekend. The bed was very soft and the pillows were large. Coffeemaker in the room. Beautiful scenery and lots of benches around the motel to take a sit. The lady at the front counter was super nice. The location to the casino is great. Less than .5 of a mile to the casino entrance, and it's all Harrahs property (Harrah's parking lot....where you have to park if your going to the casino anyway).For anyone who says it is to far of a walk from the El Camino or the Ramada across the street, Lord help you. There's a great pancake house nearby and a Wendy's across the street. The main shopping/attraction area of Cherokee is less than a mile west. We were very impressed with this hotel and will stay here again when we go to Harrah's. Hotels in the Great Smokey Mountains are hit and miss on this and the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg side. This motel is definitely a hit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We were traveling with family and 2 grandchildren, 2 and 6 yrs old. Staff and management were very friendly. Rooms were very comfortable and spacey. Pool side is very pretty with beautiful flowers around it. For families with small children, there IS a kiddy pool. We could look out our window and see the mountains back toward Maggie Valley. This is a great motel for relaxing and close to shops. In fact instead of staying just 2 nights, we ended up staying 3 nights. If u are looking for a big fancy motel, this isn't it. For us, this is a great place to stay, relax and we will return again. IF u are into casinos, u can walk or drive from the parking lot to casino next door.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplymema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
1.1 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Camino Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Camino Motel

Property: El Camino Motel
Address: 15 Paint Town Rd, US 441 Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719-8742
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Camino Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a step away from Harrahs Cherokee Casino. We offer smoking & non-smoking rooms. 1 king or 2 queen. It is our pleasure to make your stay pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your El Camino Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Camino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing