We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay Hotel for the Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cool Waters Motel

Cool Waters Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cool Waters Motel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel for the Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I really wanted to give this hotel a good rating as we frequent it on GSM trips, but honesty and disappointment took over.

When we decided to extend our stay, the next morning just before checkout time, an important time, the office was locked with no note. The lady cleaning saw me and ducked away into a room. My second trip to office AT checkout time revealed she was running office too.

"What do you need?!!" She yelled from 4 rooms away, not to equal rudeness, I walked to her and politely said I would like to pay for another night. She opened the office, appeared frustrated and distracted, and only spoke when quoting price and change count back. I thanked her graciously to attempt to warm her up to no avail, not even a "have a good day, or don't let the door hit you!"

The Good: great location, ok price, river/ creek view from outdoor rear porch. Picnic area with grills covered tables, and outdoor fireplace. Summer pool. Nice bathrooms. Spacious rooms. Family owned. (Usually hospitable in previous visits!

The Bad: grouchy staff, old outdated rooms, loud maintenance work second evening working on gutter. Beds akin to sleeping on cots. Old AC/Heater poorly warmed cold room. Light bulbs shot on porch and lamp. No microwave, refrigerator, iron, or hair dryer. No ironing board. 13" tv from yester-decade.

I really used to look forward to Cool Waters, but next time staying at Harrahs Casino Hotel for same price, more amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLandVyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    6
    2
    21
See reviews for
16
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The last time I was there was in the mid 90's. I plan on going back this year. Yes it was old then. I really enjoyed it there. Single floor, pool, stream out back, porch on rear of room, grills that I used. It was great for the children. Plenty of room to play. Kinda central to everything want to see around Cherokee. I would discribe the rooms as, Rustic. Real wood planks on the wall. I look forward to see how it has done in the last 20 yrs.. Hope I am not disappointed. In this survey it gives a list of stay time, my date doesn't show.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place was the worst motel I have ever been in. Could not even sleep under the covers . There were crumbs & dirt in the sheets. There were cigarette ashes on the bathroom floor, the shower curtain was moldy. This place should be condemned!

Room Tip: Stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louevat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

it is a great family owned hotel.
we will come again .
can walk to casino and rest.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgabram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This motel was pretty good. The "backyard" is beautiful with a grilling and picnicking area and creek running through. There is a catch and release pond for those who bring along their poles. I didn't swim but the pool looked nice and clean. Our room had a porch on the back to enjoy the beautiful scenery from. Across the road is Granny's Restaurant which had a good buffet. On the negative side, the room was quite dated, but it served its purpose. I opened up the nightstand drawer (expecting to find a Bible) and found an empty bag of chips. Other than that, the room was clean. There is a very limited number of tv channels. No wifi offered. But, for $55 a night, it was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenfarmer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

They could have offered more channels to watch and wifi but other than that the room was great price was great and the staff was great

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrisden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have stayed here for over 10 years off and on. Not a 5 star but, overall one of the best for clean accommodations with friendly staff. If you are looking for one of the bigger hotels, this is not the one. Overall my opinion, an A+ for a small motel near the casino. You will loose your money in the casino and not here...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
4.8 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#15 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.6 mi away
Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
#16 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.3 mi away
El Camino Motel
El Camino Motel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Waters Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Waters Motel

Property: Cool Waters Motel
Address: US Highway 19 N, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Cool Waters Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing