We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This looked like a good place to stay and the price was reasonable so we checked in. After putting our things in our room, we decided to go to the casino. When we returned to our room near midnight, we found another couple in bed in our room. We asked why and they said they checked in and were given this room. We complained to the desk clerk and they said they thought we had left. I asked what they did with our luggage and things and they said they thought it was all trash and threw in in the dumpster. We were furious and demanded they find our things. They had a housekeeper jump in the dumpster and dig our stuff out and gave us another room for the night but we checked out in the morning and found a better place. It was a nightmare. I could not believe they could do something so stupid. Also, we never got anything for our trouble other than "we're sorry".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
270JeffB, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Ray, it is disappointing to learn that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I regret that you did not bring this matter to my attention during your visit or prior to this post. After much investigating our guest service team can find no record of this incident. This situation would violate many of the housekeeping and guest service policies that are in place to prevent such a problem. We check rooms on a daily basis before renting them for the night . If housekeeping finds an item left behind it is turned into lost and found. Our electronic lock system is designed to maintain the highest level of guest security. If we let you down we apologize and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Feel free to contact me at your convenience if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 357 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised, since this seems to be an older property. But the room was very clean and smelled fresh, which is super important to me! Our room overlooked the river and was very relaxing for our 1-night stay. Yummy breakfast and the staff was super-friendly. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed here in the past 3 years or so. Probably will stay here exclusively in the future when we travel to the mountains. Consistency is the word here--consistenly excellent. This Comfort Inn features large rooms with a separate sitting area and balcony overlooking a river--nice view. The rooms are very well maintained with an attention to detail you usually only find in much more expensive properties. The hotel's public areas--from the breakfast room, to the front lobby to the vending/ice machine rooms--are always very clean. The hotel is very well maintained and even the concrete walks are kept clean/pressure washed. Housekeeping is also very good. Fannie, the breakfast server, is a very nice and engaging person. My wife and I enjoyed talking to her on the second morning of our stay. She did an excellent job on the breakfast, which consisted of egg patties, sausage, waffles, and all the other usual selections. While there are plenty of lodging choices in Cherokee, it is hard to beat the value at this place. Our average nightly rate was $74 over the weekend. I highly recommend this very well managed hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark6088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our 2nd trip that we stayed at the Comfort Inn Cherokee. Both times we had a great stay. Rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The 1st trip we took the whole family and had a room with 2 doubles and a sofa, everything was comfy. This time it was just my husband and I - it was the same comfy place once again.The free breakfast is nice, sausage & egg bagels, waffles, fruit and oatmeal etc. you get a real meal. The front desk clerk was friendly and down to earth. I really liked all the staff that we met, they were all very nice. We will definitely stay here each trip that we take to Cherokee.

Room Tip: Each room that we stayed in was nice, all have a private riverfront balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadM0m3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Something different by spending Christams in the mountains. Love the view of the river and woods from the room balcony. I think it is the Oconaluftee river. Very nice hotel suite, clean and comfortable. The price was right also.We stayed for three nights. Great friendly staff. The breakfast area is roomy, bright and clean. Even though it was winter time we went out to the deck outside of the breakfast area and it is large and a very nice view of the river also. Must visit here again but during the warm weather to experience eating out on the deck.

Walking the grounds was very nice. If you are really a lover of nature, taking a walk of the grounds would be a nice experience. Love the location of the hotel also, just minutes from the Cherokee Village, museum and many other attractions in Cherokee. My daughter was thrilled when we visitied "Snake Adventures". A display of live snakes and other creatures. I was a bit on the nervous side. Overall, a definite repeat stay is on the calendar for 2013.

Room Tip: You must try Stockyard Buffet in Cherokee. Yum!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaderuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at The Comfort Inn Thanksgiving week. This is our 4th visit. Had handicapped room for husband. Love the balcony overlooking the river, one of reasons we stay there. Always have excellent service from employees especially Alice head of housekeeping. Room always clean and they are willing to help anyway they can. Will be returning next year also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyfaye602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We come to Cherokee quite often and always stay here. We''ve stayed at lots of the others. It's a little older, but has plenty of room. I get the the one that has a sofa. It has a mirror and sink outsidethe bathroom, so that's a plus. Typical breakfast . We love sitting on the balcony which overlooks a stream . It doesn't have a fridge , and in the hotter months, they run short on ice. But we love having a place to sit besides the bed . Everyone is nice and friendly .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sofa , it's like having a small sitting room all to its self. In the Sumne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMAWSYLVIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.6 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River

Address: 44 Tsalagi Rd, US 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Comfort Inn Cherokee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: $67 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Cherokee Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing