We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cabin”
other travelers have booked this property
Way Away Log Cabin near Cherokee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Way Away Log Cabin near Cherokee
View from front porch Hot Tub on covered front porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Way Away Log Cabin near Cherokee
View from front porch
Hot Tub on covered front porch
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Living Room
Gas Log Fireplace, Satellite TV/VCR/DVD
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cherokee, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teresa M
Hickory
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabin”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My boyfriend, myself and our pup just got back from spending a long weekend at Way Away Cabin. It was more that I expected. The cabin was cozy and warm, gave you a good at home feeling. We did our cooking at the cabin. There is a grill, be advised it is a charcoal grill so be sure to pick some charcoal up on the way. The hot tub was clean and had a lovely view of the mountains. We especially loved the VHS collections and watched several movies sprawled out in front of the fireplace. We did go into town on Sat for a couple hours and checked out the casino. We really aren't big gamblers but it was fun for a little bit. The only complaint I have is that the beds were very hard. I had seen this in other reviews and I had planned on bringing the memory foam mattress topper I have from home, but I didn't. I wish I would have, and next time I will. However, the couch pulls out to a bed, so we ended up sleeping on that. Was not a deal breaker. Overall we loved our stay and we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2017
Thanks. Hope you get to come back soon. Not sure what to say about the beds, we replaced mattresses a because they were "too soft". We'll try to stay with a standard grade and maybe that'll work.
thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisontr...
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful well maintained Cabin. Everything was just as advertised.”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were in NC for our son-in-laws Masters Graduation from Western Carolina Univ. They live very close to the cabin so it was very convenient. We were impressed with how clean the place was when we got there. It was mid December so the gas fireplace was a treat. The hot tub was much appreciated after a day of hiking in the Smoky Mountain National park. Rent an All wheel drive vehicle, The drive was steep especially after freezing rain. When we visit our daughter and her husband we will rent the cabin again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2017
Thank you for staying at Way Away. Hope you get to come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2017
Thanks for staying at Way Away. We'll add a note to the rules and guidelines so it's more clear what to do with the towels and linens. Thanks for the suggestion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rwpracing
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way way Cabin”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It was lovely. My wife and I stayed there for our 17th wedding anniversary. We highly recommended that anyone looking for a great place to stay we recommend staying there. We hope we can go ago next year and every year there after. It is located in a beautiful setting and everything is there except the groceries.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you, look forward to hearing from you next year.
Darion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Excellent little cabin, well maintained.”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Bring fire starter and extra firewood if you would like a bonfire.

Nice gas fireplace, Very quiet/ peaceful..sweet little place

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, very high and remote
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwpracing
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We would recommend anyone looking for a quiet beautiful cabin this is the one. It is nice inside and it has beautiful view of mountain top. The cabin has everything you need except the groceries. The hot tub is awesome and very clean. And there is a book that you can leave comments for others to read and you can pick up a rock from around town and put your name and date on it and leave on porch for others to see. We are really looking forward to when we can go back. My wife and I would recommend it to anyone that ask about a great get away.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
thanks, hope you can come back soon.
Darion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighrockM...
Denton, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Was well pleased with the location, the full kitchen with utensils and dishware, dishwasher, microwave, stove, grill outside, washer and dryer. My drawbacks was the cob webs on the ceiling, the hardness of the beds,furniture was uncomfortable and needed updating and the chemicals in the Jacuzzi (made urinating burn.) Was a wonderful place to stay otherwise and hated that it was so short a stay. Guest book to write in about your stay, Local dog comes to visit, so if you left your fur babies at home there will be one to stop by. Remember to pick up a rock to write on/paint so you can leave on the porch. Turn the TV off, some good music and some games without all the electronics, a good cook or grill master is a plus. Bring your own groceries or go shopping when you first come and save any disappointments of poor service, added things in your food that you don't care for and the cost of eating out. Your own comfort foods just makes it that much more cozy. Plenty to see and do, but if you just want to shut the world out for some peace and tranquility, get your food and games and share some quality time with the ones you love.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved that I could live and enjoy the way I wanted without to many restrictions and wasn't a hotel setting
Liked least: the beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing