We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE,GREAT PEOPLE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Holiday Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Happy Holiday Campground
Powhatan Point, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE,GREAT PEOPLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay,needed a place because of business.The person in charge was very-very nice. Not a lot of sites open because of winter and snow but I was put on the front creek. Best nights sleep I had in a long time.Will take family back for Blue Grass Fesitable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler50871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
47
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas N.c
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

we love camping at Happy holiday we had no cable .But we enjoy it better .We fish & swim & play in the creek kids had A ball & visted other campers & had lots fun we will be back in 2011 . its A great place to camp & good pleople

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishingladyDallasN_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Traveled here in May to gamble a little and what a shock this place had new owners. We heard it is now owned and operated by tribal members. Boy was I glad, the other owner was mean. Customer service was awesome and everyone was so kind and considerate. The bathrooms were spotless clean. We didn't have cable but few campgrounds in Cherokee have cable either. We came to camp, not watch TV. We only stayed one night, but we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

I have been going to this campground since I was 5 now I am 28 years ago this place was great there were paddle boats an arcade and lots of things to do besides the luxury of camping. As time has gone by the last owners let some of the place go. They switched ownership again 3 weeks before our visit this weekend and I am even less impressed the lady at the office said it was back in control of the Indians not sure if it's individuals or the reservation, probably the reservation because they care as less about the customer as the casino. You are allowed to bring pets and the rules say to leash them at all times yet there were four large breed dogs that got into our trash and had torn it all over the place in just the time it took us to walk to the bathrooms and they were running all over something you dont want with your 1 and 4 year olds playing in the campground. Of course no one is there to tell these people to tie up their dogs and have some respect for other campers so it's something you will have to do if you decide to stay here. This is a great location and a pretty good layout but the prices are outrageous and the service is useless. It has went from my favorite to my least. To bad since I am only about 30 mins away. And take some advice from a more than regular player you want to stay away from the casino worst one in the U.S. by far

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campingmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

This was a horrible experience even though t we tried to make the best of it. The Eagle cabin we rented was dark, old and dirty. They have an old plastic couch in the tiny living room which opens into a tiny bed. It was full of bed bugs we found out too late. My mom who slept on it had a severe reaction to the bites and ended up in the ER. She has been battleing the bites reactions for almost two weeks. Well if that was not enough they hitchhiked home with us and all of us have now been bit. We have done our research and contact an exterminator to direct us to control the problem but it is SO time consuming and EXPENSIVE. I ended up getting a severe reaction from the bites as well and had to go to ER and get steroid injection like my mom and oral steroids to fight the inflammatory reaction. M ymom had to get antibiotics and went to the doctor three times since because her bites were infected and so severe. The five of us have all been bitten each of us over 70 times all over our bodies. It's not a typo, 70+ times each! We could not find the little buggers right away but then last Monday my husband found one crawling on his neck and we kept it in a ziploc bag and Terminix sent it to an Entomologist in Raleigh to verify that it is indeed a bed bug so they will give Terminix permission to treat specifically for that with a special product. It's state regulated. We contacted an attorney who advised us to report the problem and Happy Holidays to the Jackson county Health Dept. and get them to go do a formal inspection of the Eagle cabin. We have done so and are awaiting the results. THis has been an exhausting experience physically and emotionally. We had have numerous sleepless nights with discomfort and itching and disgust about these tiny bugs crawling on us in the night and biting over and over. We contacted the owners of Happy Holiday to ask if they were aware of this problem and Irene one of the co-owners said she could neither deny nor confirm that they have a problem with bed bugs and that she could not help us out. Imagine that!!! I want my full refund for my two night stay, my doctor bills and prescriptions paid, the exterminaotor bills paid until the bugs are completely gone which could take 3-4 treatments or more witht the first treatment costing us $700!!!!! Not to mention the sleepless nights and pain and suffering it has caused us and lost wages from missing work to attend to this problem both medically and treatment. I will not rest, I cannot rest until justice is served. I am thankful we did not have small children who could end up in real danger if the had severe reaction to the bed bug bites. This is not over! There is NO WAY that they could not know that they have bed bug infestation in that cabin. I know we are not the only ones that stayed there and are dealing with the terrible consequences. If you don't know what bed bugs are I suggest you Google and you will see.....nightmares. My brain is fried from lack of sleep, the financial burden and the physical toll on my body fronm the bites, medications to treat and constant worry about infestation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianaKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENVILLE SC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

We have camped at Happy Holidays Rv Park for 4 years and have enjoyed every visit! I never experienced cold showers or any poor customer service. Our tent actually leaked and they let us rent a cabin for the night for half price. When we brought the camper we had plenty of room and hook ups were very accessible. Anyone camping with children should try this place my kids love it! Whoever complains about the WI-FI, your camping who needs it anyway! Christina Fraize

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVINGLIFE72_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

lazy people, horrible management, do not go there beware

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
3.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Holiday Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Holiday Campground

Property: Happy Holiday Campground
Address: 1553 Wolfetown Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-8749
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
375 sites on 40 acres located right in the heart of the Smokey Mountains. Big rig friendly we offer large pull through sites as well as creekside sites, tent sites and cabin rentals. Live music on our campground stage every weekend during the summer season. See you camping..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Happy Holiday Campground Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing