We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mile High Campground
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice getaway for our 1 year anniversary. After reading reviews about MileHigh Campground, we decided this was our place. However after driving 7 & 1/2 hours to get there and checking in to our bunk house, we found a rickety shanty full of dirt, leaves, spiders, cob webs, etc. the floor was 1/4 inch plywood and the fiberglass roof had holes which were patched up with bud light beer boxes and duct tape!! We paid $60 for 2 nights here and when we went back to the "host" for a refund, he said all deposits were non-refundable. Don't let the website's beautiful pictures fool you, we were afraid to enter the "new" shower house. It's a shame that such an amazing view and location were trashed and were so misleading. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Egreen0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our family has gone the last two years and it was our best of the year both times. There are flushing toilets and hot showers for the wife and a sense of solitude on getting away for me. nothing to fancy but clean and well kept. We tent camp so its great in the middle of the summer since it doesn't get to hot up there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBH521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have been staying here for years. We always get a bunkhouse cabin. Host are friendly, helpful, and most of all we are one big family. Can't wait until we go again...

Room Tip: We like the cabins best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcopeland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Mile High Campground. We had a large campsite with a small fire ring and a beautiful view. The campsites are well spaced from each other.

The bathrooms are pretty rustic, made of plywood, and the potty rooms, at least were clean. The shower rooms were kind of gross--I had my shower shoes and I needed them! The sink was pretty nasty with hair and dirt behind the fixtures. Sorry, but I notice things like that!

My biggest complaint about the campground was the fact that ALL of the trash bins are open. I have always understood that it is not the right thing to do for the wildlife in the area to feed them people food. All of the National Park campgrounds have closed trash bins and post signs all over the place asking campers not to feed the bears. So why does this campground ignore that premise? Is the owner trying to invite bears because they think it will attract campers hoping to see some wildlife? Don't know if I'll go back...

Room Tip: If you go, request a site with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hiawassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was our first time here, and our first time in the Smokies. We considered the NP's Balsam Mountain campground, but after checking it out, glad that we stayed at MHC. We were tent camping, but noticed every kind of mode there - rv's, popups, 5th wheel, etc.
Pro's: great views, outstanding hospitality, interesting wildlife sightings, QUIET, sites had privacy, awesome sunrises, sunsets, stargazing, hot water, showers, firewood, spacious sites, uncrowded (we arrived w/o a reservation but had plenty to choose from), at least 10-15 degrees cooler than other campgrounds in the valley, which was our primary reason for going there. Each site is unique in size, depth, view, distance to bathroom, etc. No cookie cutter sites like in the NP campgrounds. Thursday night potluck gathering with other campers was a blast, and some of the best food I've ever had while camping!
Cons: bathrooms are "rustic" but hey, they don't advertise anything but "primitive" so you know that going in! A few steps up from an outhouse (not heated, lights only at certain times of the day run by a generator). Depending on which site you are at you may have a bit of a hike to get to the bathroom if you don't have a trailer or rv, so keep that in mind if you have children or frequency issues.

Other: they have a Dutch Oven cook off there the last weekend of July which sounds like a lot of fun, but if you plan to go, definitely make a reservation as it sounds like it's pretty full
up then. Some of the sites are small but perfect for backpacking-sized tents, very few of the sites look big enough for larger trailers and RVs.

For the sake of comparison, the Balsam mountain campground has bathrooms with flush toilets, but no hot water/showers, the sites are extremely small and shallow (those with larger trailers/RVs actually have to park in the roadway itself) and there seems to be little or no privacy and space between sites, much like all the other campgrounds in the GSMNP. And it's much further away from Cherokee, very remote, no real views to speak of, and certainly not the hospitality you get at MHC!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NHBlueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My Brother and really enjoyed our 5 night camping trip, beautiful views, quiet, I wish I brought a bike. Did get a little windy on the mountain top in Oct to be expected.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 34230HappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Mile high campground has nice views and is quiet. Our trip was great. The bath house needs to be updated but the showers were hot. We thought the price was high for primative camping and heard the price is going up even more next year. Not sure if we are going back because of the price.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank redbird9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
3 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
291 reviews
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Cherokee
Econo Lodge Cherokee
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mile High Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mile High Campground

Address: Box 30, Bradley Loop Road, Cherokee, NC 28719-0030
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Mile High Campground Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing