We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Typical Express, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Typical Express, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you are traveling to Cherokee to gamble I recommend this hotel. It sits across the street from Harrah's outdoor parking lot and the casino is easy to get to. There are no sidewalks so I'd suggest crossing at the light and walking through the Harrah's parking lot. Our room, a queen junior suite, was a little shopworn: peeling wallpaper, stains, very dark in the "living room ". The towels were plentiful and thicker than the usual HIE. The beds were very comfortable. Awful powdered eggs on the breakfast bar and glacial wi-fi rounded out this stay. The staff was very friendly and the parking was a breeze. So would I stay here again? Maybe, if I felt I needed to be that close to the casino - otherwise I'd stay at the Hampton Inn down the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear BobZAtlanta_Ga,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had and our breakfast options. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    86
    76
    29
    10
See reviews for
52
129
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just returned from a great 3 night stay at HIE. Nice staff at the front desk, good selection for breakfast, great beds. Great location, it's a five minute walk to Harrah's. Would recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbusseminoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We choose this place after completing two day Blue Ridge Parkway road trip hoping to get some good sleep (we definitely got good sleep). Great location, easy access to both Parkway and Great Smoky Mountains. Facility is neatly maintained, enough parking, friendly staff and nice breakfast. There is no casino in the hotel itself. Harrah's casino is right across the street and we liked our time in the casino. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N3Kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute trip and was lucky to find they had rooms. Though the price was more than I wanted to spend, it was last minute and it was during leaf color changing time. The room was decent, it had a small refrigerator and microwave. The only room left was a two queen room which also had a small couch (pull out bed) and coffee table. I guess based on other reviews we must have had a suite. As someone else mentioned the internet bandwidth is not very good. If you're doing the occasional email then I think you're fine, but if you needed to do heavy online work this might not be the place. Breakfast was good, the standard Cinnamon rolls and pastries, but they also had some eggs, sausage and biscuits along with bacon. Though I didn't try it they have a pancake maker, it guess you press the button and 1 minute later out pops a pancake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the last 5 years and are always pleased. This location is very convenient to both the Great Smoky Mountain Nat'l Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The rooms are comfortable, and the breakfast is the usual HI Express fare. The staff is always courteous. We bring a motorcycle in a trailer and always have ample places to park. The food choices in Cherokee are limited, but the Harrah's casino is across the street and has restaurants. Would definitely recommend this property

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Being a member of Priority Club since it's 1984 inception I have stayed at many of their properties over the years. As always this property was clean and comfortable. Upon check in I asked if we could get a mini fridge but was told that they no longer offer them. Available in suites only.
The one thing they have to improve Is their band width. We stayed on a Saturday night and I am writing this review the next morning. It took me about 4 minutes to loud the Trip-advisor page to write this review.
Overall this HIX is a good value and they are always clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room to keep the overhead noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear bnel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stay at a lot of HIE's and this was one of the nicest. The hotel was very clean with a very helpful staff. We had a king bed suite and stayed 2 nights, if we ever go to Cherokee again we hope we can get the same room. Great breakfast, good assortment of items to chose from. The first morning they were really busy and no tables were available so we had to take our food back to the room so to get additional food meant we had to return to the break room. The second morning was not as busy so tables were available. Beds were very comfortable. Great place to stay in Cherokee and the casino is almost directly across the street, we walked over several times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#12 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Address: 376 Paint Town Rd, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719-9120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing