We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“C'Mon Holiday Inn ... You can do better” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“C'Mon Holiday Inn ... You can do better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The scenery was beautiful, surrounded by the Smokey Mountains but really the disappointment was non-stop and the best thing about this hotel was leaving!!!
1.) Dirty tub
2.) No complimentary water/snack for being a Silver Priority Club member
3.) I had late check out but different staff members continued to knock on the door hours
before I was due to check out
4.) Burnt comforter
5.) Staff smoking outside in the front entrance and was often absent from the desk, no where
to be found
6.) Only one choice of fresh fruit at breakfast
7.) Juice machine was broke so they had gallons of this orange juice just sitting out at room
temperature
8.) Towels were yellowish, good thing I bought my own rags
9.) Dirty carpet, time for a carpet cleaning
10.) Internet was out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Toi S,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    93
    80
    31
    11
See reviews for
56
141
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach,VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Celebrating our 20 yr anniversary across from the Cherokee Casino was the greatest mini vacation. The beautiful scenery and wonderful atmosphere of the Smoky Mountains was breathtaking. The hotel and its staff were great and the breakfast delicious. The only issue I had was at around 4am I could hear the voices coming from the next room...noisy and somewhat loud. Other than that, the room was clean and bed comfortable. Only had a day to visit the quaint town, but if I were to visit again, I will definitely be going back to this hotel...even if I lost money at the casino, the convenience, location and comfort of this Holiday Inn Express was a big win for me!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ur2punny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good value, close to the casino, comfortable, clean and a good breakfast. But..... there are no refrigerators in the rooms which is crazy. If you want one, you need to ask. That was my only complaint. Only way to keep anything cold was to fill the ice bucket, but the ice machine was most of the time out of service. But hey, I've had worse

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlosbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Karlosbb,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is a great pleasure to read you found our rooms comfortable and enjoyed breakfast. I apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to the room amenities and hotel facilities which fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location; you can walk to Harrah's, less then two blocks. There is good trout fishing just across the road. Rooms are clean and up to date, the morning free breakfast is good and there is a good selection of items.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt Jot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location, if you are unable to get room in the Cherokee casino hotel. Walls a bit thin. People constantly slamming doors, lot of socializing in hallway, and in nearby rooms. Could also hear the feet pounding on floor upstairs too. 3rd floor is for smokers only - good Thing!! Rooms clean, large bathrooms, and variety of breakfast choices - free!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived before check in time and they told us we could leave our car there while we went to the casino and gave us directions for crossing street. Room was average size and clean. No refrigerator or microwave in the room which is negative for us. Front desk gave us directions for getting to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg as the road over the mountains was still closed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jesathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear jesathome,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the hotel to your liking and I will pass on your comments about the staff being friendly and helpful to them all, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Way understaffed. Housekeeping was bad! On checkin..no towels or soaps and coffee pot was nasty. Next day did get towels but did not make bed nor touch the coffe pot..old filter still there. Great location and cinnamon rolls were good but had a full house and no staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiJ433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear HeidiJ433,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience our housekeeping may have caused during your stay. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are very unhappy about your experience. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
0.1 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing