We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, clean room, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Cherokee
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people, clean room, good service”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Econo Lodge Cherokee for one Friday night, and it was a wonderful experience. We chose the hotel because of the good rate, continental breakfast, and proximity to Harrah's. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, the room was clean and nicely arranged, and the continental breakfast the next morning was fairly better than expected. They had bagels, waffles, grits and oatmeal packets, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, milk, even hot cocoa and tea. It was a little pricey, but most hotels in the area are. All in all we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyB644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Ashley B-
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with Econo Lodge Cherokee.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    84
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
106
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to the casino, and decided to stay here. This was a great experience, it was more than I expected for an Econo Lodge, this hotel should be 3 stars. The rooms were absolutely worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your great compliments.We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.Nina Jump,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hard to find, noisey guest all night. Breakfast was simple but plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a whim/on the fly trip towards the end of our vacation. The area is extremely beautiful. The staff at this hotel were very helpful and friendly with tips about the local area. The room itself was just what you would expect from a 2 star hotel. It smelled like they allowed pets to stay here, the carpet/room had what seemed like a 'wet puppy' smell (I am not sure if this is true). While not completely unbearable, I decided not to stay a second night. Each room has individual window unit type ac/heating units, while they do what they say, they are noisy. This hotel is located right off the major road, since a storm passed through that night there was some police sirens heard a few times (I don't expect that this is a normal occurring thing). There are 2 places in walking distance to have breakfast/lunch/dinner. The hotel has continental breakfast (bagels, cereal, OJ, milk, instant grits, instant oatmeal, coffee).

While this trip it didn't matter, it does not have a pool onsite, or several other amenities that other hotels in this price range were offering in the area.

Room Tip: Very close to the entrance to the Great Smokey Mountains park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night here with my wife for a night out at the casino. Great location for all the tourist traps and only about a mile from the casino. Room was average, clean and had good cold a/c. King size bed was comfortable. No pool on the property wasn't a big deal to us but may be to you. All in all a decent place to stay for 1 night just a little overpriced I thought.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bignewmanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Cherokee is right in the heart of the town, but not completely overrun with the tourist shops. (They are just down the street) The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. What else do you need? The breakfast is simple but better than some I have seen. Very close to the entrance of the Park and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We rented two rooms for one night---14 June--Rooms were very clean and the staff were most helpful with info regarding the area highlights.Location is great midway between heritage area and the casino. Special thanks to the employee working the desk on 15 June----what a worker---friendly and helpful. In addition to working the front desk she prepared and stocked breakfast items,answered questions with a smile and while resting cleaned the front door window---what a keeper----will def stay here next trip to Cherokee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and look foward to seeing you again in the future.
Nina Jump,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cherokee

Property: Econo Lodge Cherokee
Address: 20 River Rd, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719-9771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cherokee
#5 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge nestled in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains is a conveniently located hotel in the downtown area on the Cherokee Indian Reservation adjacent to the Oconaluftee River and is minutes from most of the areas popular attractions like Harrahs Casino, Paula Deen's resturant, The Cherokee Indian Museum, Oconaluftee Indian Village, Unto These Hills a powerful outdoor drama that brings to life the tragic history of the Cherokee people, Oconaluftee Island Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Other points of interest include: Santa's Land. Cherokee Bear Zoo. Cherokee Fun Park Tubing on the River. Fontana Dam, Deals Gap (Tail of the Dragon), Cataloochee Ski Area, Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Come stay with us and enjoy being in walking distance to restaurants and many shops with a theater complex just across the street from the Econo Lodge. Activities include tubing, world class trout fishing, bonfires and picnicking on the river. The Econo Lodge is also just 30 minutes away from Western Carolina University. Guests of this Cherokee, NC hotel are invited to enjoy many great amenities like free fresh coffee, free wifi, free local calls and a free deluxe continental breakfast. Business travelers will appreciate the access to copy/fax services and free wifi. Traveling families will enjoy our larger family suites. All of our spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, cable television with free Showtime and refrigerators. Handicapped accessible, smoking and non smoking rooms are available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure the Econo Lodge hotel offers a convenient location, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Cherokee area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing