We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so happy”
Review of Great Smokies Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Smokies Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Lawrenceville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so happy”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and the first time was fine. The room was clean but we noticed the toilet wasn't working. I called the desk and asked if someone would come look at it. That was around 5:30pm. We returned to the room at midnight and no one had even been to the room and the toilet still wasn't working. At the very least, we deserved a phone call and a choice to change rooms. I will definitely be more hesitant the next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    46
    26
    19
See reviews for
48
90
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is an older property that was formerly a Best Western. The room was very clean, including the bathroom. Facility appears to have been updated with new carpeting and furnishings. I am recovering from knee surgery and the hotel staff was very accommodating to find my husband and I a ground floor, King, Non-smoking. They warned us that this was a pet friendly room and that dogs had been allowed. When we entered the room there was no smell or evidence that any animals had been inside - so obviously the staff is very conscientious about cleaning their rooms.

There were a few improvements that I would suggest. Add free continental breakfast; change to a better quality soap, provide more tv channels and put extra blankets in the room.

Room Tip: Book online and then call the hotel directly to make specific room request to be near front of compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I should have taken heed to the reviews previous to my free stay. As the saying goes everything that is free ain't always good. First of all I was placed in the wayyyy back of the hotel. I was scared as I don't know what. It was dark when I got there so I was a little weary. Anyway I walked in my room and I thought they forgot to vacuum because tissue paper from I guess another guest was all over the floor. The bed was comfortable but the comforters were as thin as the sheets so bring your own if you want to feel warm. I slept bundled up in my PJs all both nights. The bathroom was not clean it looked like someone just wiped everything down and that's it. I slept with the chair and table behind the door. Lol just wasn't feeling it. I tell you what Econo Lodge may not be a 5 star hotel but the next time I go back I'll be staying there again. I would have never found any of the things I found here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Denetra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were comped a room here one night by the casino along with a night at the motel across the street but that's another review. I was very worried after reading the reviews on here and wasn't sure what I was going to find. Upon checkin, I was given a list of items in the room and their price. I was expecting this after reading some of the reviews here. Once we got to our room, I realized some of the items on the list were not in our room. I called the front desk and she said not to worry about it and nothing was charged to us. This motel has very thin linens and no breakfast or really any amenities. If I had not been comped a night here, I never would have stayed here. This just is not the kind of place that we prefer and we aren't snobs by any means. Next time, we will go on to the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was comped this room by the casino. Reading the reviews I was skeptical of staying here. It's an older motel with dated furnishings and very little amenities. Nonetheless my room was very clean. I have stayed at a number of hotels to include 4 and 5 stars and this has to be in the top five for cleanliness. No dust, awful smells, hairs, or bugs in my room. No mold in bathroom grout or dirty toilets. No rips, holes, or stains on the furnishings. I mean I was truly amazed at how clean it was. I would stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ms_Zee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Maybe the worst place in the world to spend the night. After visiting 28 countries in my life and 1000 of hotel stays in the USA, this place is the all time worst, dirtiest, bug filled with a staff that was lazy and unresponsive. The floors were filthy, showers molding, towels that were stained and after complaining to the manager Nina, she obviously did not show any concern and acted as if it was normal to hear these complaints. Would not want my dog to stay in those rooms and my dog is an outside dog. Terrible. To top it off the water in the lobby coffee pot was dirty also with bugs crawling over the cart. Just the worst place in the world to stay in... just awful.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smokies I, Front Office Manager at Great Smokies Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We here at Great Smokies Inn do our best to address guest complaints in a timely manner.Unfortunately, with this particular issue, we were not made aware of these problems until it was posted here.In the future please address any issues with management on property so that they can be resolved upon departure.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was expecting shabby as this was an older motel. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The beds are extra firm but comfortable. The location was good. The heating was comfortable. The only issues that I had with the room were: a) no mini fridge or microwave, which is the most important issue for most travelers; b) the toilet paper was horrific, but not too big of a deal; c) front desk staff, while polite, was very disorganized...could not find my reservation at first because they have multiple binders rather than keeping all in one place. These were minor issues though, so the good outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.0 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
270 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Smokies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Smokies Inn

Property: Great Smokies Inn
Address: 1636 Acquoni Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-9413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Smokies Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cherokee Indian Reservation the Great Smokies Inn is less than a half mile drive to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway,also less than 3 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino and many other attractions. Guests can also enjoy white water rafting and tubing in the area. Guests will enjoy free wireless internet, an outdoor pool and business center. Spacious rooms with a choice of one king bed or two queen beds, in-room hairdryer, free local calls, iron and board and microwave and refrigerators in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Smokies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing