We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well maintained”
Review of Great Smokies Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Smokies Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is an older property that was formerly a Best Western. The room was very clean, including the bathroom. Facility appears to have been updated with new carpeting and furnishings. I am recovering from knee surgery and the hotel staff was very accommodating to find my husband and I a ground floor, King, Non-smoking. They warned us that this was a pet friendly room and that dogs had been allowed. When we entered the room there was no smell or evidence that any animals had been inside - so obviously the staff is very conscientious about cleaning their rooms.

There were a few improvements that I would suggest. Add free continental breakfast; change to a better quality soap, provide more tv channels and put extra blankets in the room.

Room Tip: Book online and then call the hotel directly to make specific room request to be near front of compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 238 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I should have taken heed to the reviews previous to my free stay. As the saying goes everything that is free ain't always good. First of all I was placed in the wayyyy back of the hotel. I was scared as I don't know what. It was dark when I got there so I was a little weary. Anyway I walked in my room and I thought they forgot to vacuum because tissue paper from I guess another guest was all over the floor. The bed was comfortable but the comforters were as thin as the sheets so bring your own if you want to feel warm. I slept bundled up in my PJs all both nights. The bathroom was not clean it looked like someone just wiped everything down and that's it. I slept with the chair and table behind the door. Lol just wasn't feeling it. I tell you what Econo Lodge may not be a 5 star hotel but the next time I go back I'll be staying there again. I would have never found any of the things I found here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Denetra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were comped a room here one night by the casino along with a night at the motel across the street but that's another review. I was very worried after reading the reviews on here and wasn't sure what I was going to find. Upon checkin, I was given a list of items in the room and their price. I was expecting this after reading some of the reviews here. Once we got to our room, I realized some of the items on the list were not in our room. I called the front desk and she said not to worry about it and nothing was charged to us. This motel has very thin linens and no breakfast or really any amenities. If I had not been comped a night here, I never would have stayed here. This just is not the kind of place that we prefer and we aren't snobs by any means. Next time, we will go on to the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was comped this room by the casino. Reading the reviews I was skeptical of staying here. It's an older motel with dated furnishings and very little amenities. Nonetheless my room was very clean. I have stayed at a number of hotels to include 4 and 5 stars and this has to be in the top five for cleanliness. No dust, awful smells, hairs, or bugs in my room. No mold in bathroom grout or dirty toilets. No rips, holes, or stains on the furnishings. I mean I was truly amazed at how clean it was. I would stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ms_Zee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Maybe the worst place in the world to spend the night. After visiting 28 countries in my life and 1000 of hotel stays in the USA, this place is the all time worst, dirtiest, bug filled with a staff that was lazy and unresponsive. The floors were filthy, showers molding, towels that were stained and after complaining to the manager Nina, she obviously did not show any concern and acted as if it was normal to hear these complaints. Would not want my dog to stay in those rooms and my dog is an outside dog. Terrible. To top it off the water in the lobby coffee pot was dirty also with bugs crawling over the cart. Just the worst place in the world to stay in... just awful.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smokies I, Front Office Manager at Great Smokies Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

We here at Great Smokies Inn do our best to address guest complaints in a timely manner.Unfortunately, with this particular issue, we were not made aware of these problems until it was posted here.In the future please address any issues with management on property so that they can be resolved upon departure.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was expecting shabby as this was an older motel. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The beds are extra firm but comfortable. The location was good. The heating was comfortable. The only issues that I had with the room were: a) no mini fridge or microwave, which is the most important issue for most travelers; b) the toilet paper was horrific, but not too big of a deal; c) front desk staff, while polite, was very disorganized...could not find my reservation at first because they have multiple binders rather than keeping all in one place. These were minor issues though, so the good outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystalds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in this motel a few years ago. At that time I think it was a Best Western. It cost less & was about what you would expect to pay for a similar room at other motels. Now that it is the Great Smokies Inn, I found the price was out of line (too high) when considering like accommodations. Also, when we stayed before there was a good restaurant in the motel. That is gone now.
The weather was cold & we had to ask for blankets. Given the weather conditions I felt the blankets should have already been in the room. When we ask for them they were bought right away. The room heater kept the room warm but there was a big fluctuation range in the temperature. It would get too cold before the unit kicked on & would be too hot by the time it turned off.
The TV left much to be desired. It was an small older model not a flat screen. The tuning & volume controls were not the best.
While not spotless, the room was acceptably clean.
This place is showing its age & is in need of some updates.
The one bright spot was the staff. They were both helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Would stay here in a pinch. But would try to find something a little nicer for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrackerBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites
2 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Smokies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Smokies Inn

Address: 1636 Acquoni Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-9413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: $57 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Smokies Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cherokee Indian Reservation the Great Smokies Inn is less than a half mile drive to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway,also less than 3 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino and many other attractions. Guests can also enjoy white water rafting and tubing in the area. Guests will enjoy free wireless internet, an outdoor pool and business center. Spacious rooms with a choice of one king bed or two queen beds, in-room hairdryer, free local calls, iron and board and microwave and refrigerators in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Great Smokies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing