We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but Musty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
SC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean but Musty”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent a weekend here in August. Hotel was freshly renovated and fairly clean but smelled musty. Hotel desk staff were helpful and plesant. The hotel had an enclosed pool and hottub out back and they were nice although the jacuzzi jets did not all work. This is not a luxury hotel but was a good enough place to flop between rding the surrounding countryside and casino visits. The breakfast area was small and cramped and the offerings were meager. This was a last minute low cost alternative on a busy weekend in Cherokee so it had to do but I would normally seek refuge at a more modern and roomy hotel. However, although it lacked luster and size if you can get a good rate it may suit your needs well enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlightlyDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    26
    17
    32
See reviews for
54
52
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites over the weekend. They were very busy and had a lot of cops in house which made me feel safe.... We checked on Thursday evening with a young lady named Brittanie. She was VERY HELPFUL!! She sent us to Granny's Kitchen for dinner and it was TOTALLY worth it. Also we spoke with Jamie, Amber and Melany, ALL of which were so nice and helpful...... I will be returning! All the comments about being old and out dated are from HATERS! No place is perfect.... this one did a GREAT job. IF the rooms suck, have a great Front Desk Staff!!!!! KUDOS to SMOKY MOUNTAIN INN & SUITES!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efland, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed here several times when I was unable to get a room at the casino. I have also stayed at the Quality Inn and the Hampton nearby. Try them first. This place is ok to crash for a few hours then hit the casino again, but the beds are not good, the tv's are very old, there are no amenities such as fridge, microwave, safe, etc.. Old mismatched towels in the bathroom. Needs a complete overhaul before it is a destination choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean and close to the casino. I had a good experience. Only negative was the room had a strong smoke smell. Saw the negative reviews and based on our one night stay I would tell people not to worry if they book here .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisismeonline_yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had to find an alternate hotel when my inn of choice was booked for the weekend. SMIS was one of the few available, so I decided to give it a try. I got a pretty good rate, which would have been much better ($59) had I stayed during the workweek. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. The décor is early 1990s, but the property has been well-maintained. The "retro" shower looked like it had been installed yesterday. The room had good Wi-Fi access but didn't have a refrigerator, microwave or coffeemaker. There was free coffee in the lobby, however, that was maintained throughout the day. The biscuits and gravy were very tasty, and the waffles seemed popular. (I had the former, but not the latter). I didn't try the pool, but it looked appealing. The staff was friendly but unobtrusive. The door is locked at night, but a staff member saw me and came right over to open it for me. All in all, this was a positive experience. But stay during the week, not the weekend. For $59, the hotel is an awesome value. For $107 (what I paid), the stay was less of a value but probably "market rate" for a weekend stay in July.

Room Tip: For the best value, stay during the week rather than on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesboro, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms were clean and the woman at the service desk was nice. The problem arose when she was improperly trained and the manager was away on an "emergency". I checked in myself and 2 other guests in order to get into my own room before the manager arrived with her children in tow.

On top of that, I arrived in the room finding that the bathroom's sliding door had no lock on it. In fact, the bathroom also lacks a bathtub and only has a small shower which surprisingly fits in the little rectangle of a room.

If it had not been for the service, this hotel would have been one of the nicer budget ones I had stayed in. However, because of the problems, it turned out that the trip was less than fun.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean and the woman at the service desk was nice. The problem arose when she was impr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skylar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Cherryville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed several places in cherokee and by far this is the nicest and quietest place to stay.
Very friendly people and great staff that will help with your needs.the indoor pool is fabulous. the motel is real close to the casino and easy to find. it has a great little breakfast just to get you started in the mornings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 28 in Cherokee
270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
2.3 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites

Property: Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites
Address: 344 Seven Clans Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-4525
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing