We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont go”
Review of Stock Yard Steaks - CLOSED

Stock Yard Steaks
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: Open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week.Full Menu and Country style buffet
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“dont go”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

it like a small golden corral the food was poor and the resturant smelt like a nursing home like colorx and pee and it was $15.00 a person to eat

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    9
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
283 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fooled by the Signs”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Got in late and thought it was OK before going to the hotel. Buffet has steak, seafood, veggies, and desert. Steam table was hot, but the food was not as expected. Steaks were tough for me, but I tried another and didn't see much difference. I think it was the cut of meat being served, but to each his own. Server was nice and kept the glasses filled and answered questions. We choose to eat at the casino when we make trips to Cherokee, so we don't have to chance the food not meeting expectations. There's nothing wrong with looking at the buffet before sitting down in a restaurant. Could have been an off night, but other reviews seem to provide same feedback. I was disappointed but still left the server a nice tip for their assistance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't get your hopes up”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Maybe it wasn't good because t was Sunday night and close to closing time... The buffet with a coke was $16 WOW!!! I paid it and thought how bad could it be? Well I'm sure there is no need to type anymore and you can figure it out. The coke was the best part of my meal! If anyone wonder what happen to that Gremiln that exploded in the microwave bake in the 80's I think think he was in one of the buffet trays...
The desert bar was just plain nasty... It would have been better to just say your out! I mean really people it was bad. Bottom line it's a $5.99 meal at best! Only go if the brave go there!

Helpful?
1 Thank CM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Cashier was slow to take our order. We ordered from the menu since buffet bar didn't look appetizing. Food didn't have much taste.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pah1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware Shoals, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food Good Value”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

They offer real country buffet. The food was good. The price was reasonable. They offer everything on their bar from steaks to seafood. If you don't want the bar you can order off the menu. We really enjoyed it and play on eating there our next trip to cherokee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationMom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock Yard Steaks also viewed

Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing