We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time we have stayed there and I am sure we will return!”
Review of Drama Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drama Inn
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great hotel. Very friendly and laid back kind of place. Make sure to ask for upstairs river front room, it is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muchie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Drama Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

we loved staying there the rooms were very clean and the staff was very hospitable. The rates are very resonable. The staff there were so nice. I would tell anyone coming that way that is the place to stay. LOVED IT

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felecia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Location of the Drama Inn could have not been better. Wished I could have said the same for the rooms and the service. When I checked I the clerk said that theupstairs rooms were better than the down stairs rooms which were full. the rooms are very out of date. Color on walls old mustard yellow. The comode in our room did not work. I informed the clerk and also the, I guess the owner. First ofall you don't speek to your coustermers like they are interupting you. Then I was informed it would be 7pm before their would be anyone that could fix it. My husband and I were not happy at all. Asked for a nother room or money back. they have a no refund policy. So changed rooms. Not any better. Smaller TV.. No towels, and the wall are paper thin too. You could hear every thing going on in the next room. doors on either room locked good. Needless to say We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pasmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Toilet in room stopped flushing after the first flush on Thurs, reported it and it was supposed to have been fixed. Repair man showed up Sat as we were checking out. ALso toilet leaked across floor whole time.
BEWARE.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank suntan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My sister and myself stayed at the drama inn and we will go back again,from the guy who checked us in to the lady that runs the inn everone was great.This is an older inn but it is on the water and the staff is great and that goes a long way with me.If you are in the cherokees give them a try,i think you will find that you will like it better than the rest.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincoln_alabamaWanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was nervous about staying here after reading the reviews but was optimistic. We were part of a group and I was pleasantly surprised. True some rooms are not updated but the new management is working on that one room at a time. The management and staff were friendly and helpful and glad to have us there. Will stay again next time I'm in Cherokee.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I just could not believe some of the things I read in the last review I read about this place. It had me kind of nervous at first but let me tell you...when I got there I was nothing but mezmerized. We have rooms overlooking the river which was very peaceful. We could sit there in the rocking chairs and watch the other people fish and some just play in the water and having a good time. The surrounding of nature was just so beautiful. The staff was so nice and the rooms were so clean and if we asked for anything we got it right away. The service was just great. Everything was either in walking distance or either just a short drive away. It was so great. There was so much to do. I saw so much and did so many things til I was exhausted each evening and all I wanted to do was sit in those chairs and just watch the river flow and others have fun. I know I about drove the german lady in the office crazy because I kept going in there asking so many questions but she always greeted me with a smile and was always eagerly ready to help me with anything I or any of the ones with me needed. I wish I could say the same about all motels. People just are not that friendly anymore. This is a place I will definately be going back to again and I hope the same people are still there when I do go again. They made my trip so pleasureable. All it takes is one bad apple to spoil a good thing for the whole bunch but I must say...please try this place before you judge it one harsh review. I know I am so glad I did because I would have hated to know I would have missed out on all of the pleasures that I enjoyed during my stay there. Thank you so much to the staff and management at the Drama Inn for making us feel so at home. We will be coming to see you again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyFriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#7 of 28 in Cherokee
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 28 in Cherokee
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.0 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
#17 of 28 in Cherokee
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drama Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drama Inn

Address: 462 Tsali Boulevard, US 441 North, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: $86 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drama Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drama Inn is a historic motel nestled on the bank of the Oconaluftee River. There are rooms with balconies overlooking the river with rocking chairs at every room to relax and enjoy the view. If fishing is your thing you'll love our easy access to the river. We are located directly across from the ceremonial grounds in downtown Cherokee and within walking distance of the Unto These Hills drama, river tubing,restaurants, souvenir shops and many more. We are also 1 mile from Harrahs Cherokee Casino. Come experience Cherokee in a new way ! (UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF OCTOBER 23 2014) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Drama Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drama Hotel Cherokee
Drama Motel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing